W220 MOST and D2B Comand units

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

alanm_3

Car
S320 CDi
Hi folks, first posting on here, and I'm right in at the deep end!!

I am about to collect a 2002 (non-facelift) S320 CDi next weekend, which for some reason has no Comand unit fitted. I am very keen to install it, and would obviously like the widescreen version rather than the smaller screen.

Having spoken to the dealership, they have told me that based on the chassis number my car is a pre-MOST bus car and as such is D2B, so the assumption is a Comand 2.5 unit would be a relatively straight-forward exercise to retro-fit.
Given the lack of MOST bus in my car (I have some experience of MOST from my Porsche days and know how much of a pain it can be!), I am assuming I would need to source a D2B widescreen unit, if there is such a thing, or replace the loom (which I have no intentions of doing!)

So here are my questions :-
1. Is there a D2B version of the widescreen Comand unit?
2. If so what other "bits" do I need to source in terms of cableing etc?
3. Is the DVD Comand unit MOST bus only?

Thanks in advance!!

Alan

1. Is there a D2B version of the widescreen Comand unit?
1. Yes, there are D2B comand versions for your S-class. You can get a comand 2.5 which should fit in your dash without a single problem. Or you can get a 16/9 comand unit (for 2003 models), in which case you have to get yourself a new wood panel as well.

2. If so what other "bits" do I need to source in terms of cableing etc?
2. GPS antenna, C-connector, screws for comand fixation... maybe get your car reprogrammed through Stardiagnose to get the navigation instructions to show on your instrument cluster's display.

If you go with the 16/9 comand, it may be possible that you can't control the comand through your steering wheel buttons, though.

3. Is the DVD Comand unit MOST bus only?