Web Site Creation Software

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Jukie

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Car
MY11 E350 CDi Avantgarde
Can anyone recommend or advise on any suitable software that doesn't cost the earth (£100 or less)? E.g. EasyGen2 or Namo's Webeditor are two I've heard of

It's not for anything commercial. I've been asked to investigate setting up a website for my church. I'm IT literate but have no development skill, so it needs to be simple!

TIA, David

Some versions of MS Office include FrontPage, does yours?

PJH said:
Some versions of MS Office include FrontPage, does yours?

PJH,

I may have it, I'll have to check my CDs. It's certainly not installed on my lappy.

How easy is FrontPage for complete beginners?

I'd recommend Microsoft Publisher 2003 it's a really great piece of software that will comfortably build sites for you and do an awful lot more. Either from it's range of templates or starting with a blank page. It's well supported with loads of internet resources and you can pick it for less than £100. If you are looking for a decent DTP package then there's very little can touch it - it's one of my favourite bits of MS software :)

Amazon .com is doing it for $79 if you can persuade them to ship to the UK or there is an Amazon.co.uk Marketplace vendor offering it for £75.

HTH

Andy

Cheers, Andy & PJH.

Should have mentioned in my original post that one of the features the site will need is a "Guest Book" / comments section.

Can the all/some of the above-mentioned software provide that, do you know?

frontpage isn't very easy for beginners (well not in my eperience). Guest books can be downloaded for free from the internet and if you choose carefully you can find one without popups try here. All you do is copy there code into your web page and you are up and running.

HTH

Andy

If you have Microsoft Word on your computicle one of the File>Save As..... options is Web page *.html