Website connection problem.

Discussion in 'PC and I.T support/Advice posts' started by AMGeed, Mar 5, 2019.

  1. AMGeed

    AMGeed MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    11,395
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bournemouth/Poole Dorset
    Car:
    2004 W211 E55K ///AMG
    I'm hoping to pick the brains of the more IT savvy guys on the forum with the following problem.

    It began last Thursday when a website I frequent was being migrated to another server.
    I have been trying since the following day to connect to this site on both my desktop and laptop but I'm just getting timed out and the usual message "The site can't be reached" etc etc. We have all seen this one from time to time.

    So I started by seeing if I could connect using a different browser. Tried both Firefox and Edge and same message appears. Checked the browser settings for all three (inc the usual one I use, Chrome) and all is as it should be.

    I then disconnected the wireless signal on my mobile phone and hey presto, an instant connection.
    Turn the wi-fi signal back on, connection unobtainable?
    So this points to my Virgin Media internet connection not allowing a connection to this one website.
    Every other site is fine.

    Back to the steps I 've taken without success.

    Anti-Virus run, no threats, then temporarily disabled. No change. (Only one anti virus installed)

    PC scanned for malware using CCleaner and Malawebytes. Nothing found.

    Browser setting re checked. Set to automatically detect LAN settings and "Use a proxy server for your LAN" is unchecked.

    Javascript is enabled.
    No Parental controls are set.
    Date and Time are correct
    No strange extensions enabled in the browser

    The DNS settings have been flushed (ipconfig/flushdns), the router has been re booted along with the PC. Still getting same message "This site can't be reached.

    Also tried to connect using the IP address.
    Opened Network and connection settings and tried to connect the specific site but messasge returned was " Your computer appears to be correctly configured, but the device or resource (forums.mercedesclub.org.uk) is not responding

    Finally checked the "is it down right now" website and the URL I want is up and running as confirmed on my mobile phone.

    What have I missed?
    Keep it simple please, I'm not that IT clever:(
     
  2. KillerHERTZ

    KillerHERTZ Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,586
    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Car:
    CLS63 AMG
    Can you access the said site via a VPN on your PC?
     
    AMGeed likes this.
  3. grober

    grober MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    26,139
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Location:
    Perth, Scotland
    Car:
    W204 C200CDI Estate
    Have you tried a utility like Traceroute [ others are available] to see exact where in the communication chain between your computer and that website is breaking down? If you repeat this with your wireless signal off and on you may get a clue where its happening?
     
    AMGeed likes this.
  4. OP
    OP
    AMGeed

    AMGeed MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    11,395
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bournemouth/Poole Dorset
    Car:
    2004 W211 E55K ///AMG
    Yes Karl. I have IPVanish and can connect with it turned on.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    AMGeed

    AMGeed MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    11,395
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bournemouth/Poole Dorset
    Car:
    2004 W211 E55K ///AMG
    Not yet Graham. Just trying to get some ideas from the clever guys.
    I'll download and try it.
     
  6. markmifsud

    markmifsud Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,199
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    North Weald, Essex and Bromley, London
    Car:
    CLK320 CAB (A208) 02
    Sounds lime the Vermin DNS servers have not updated. It should not take more than 24hours and in most cases 5 to 10mins.
    Try this, connect your laptop to your Phones Hotspot and ping the domain. Open command Prompt (start run/search CMD)
    type
    ping www.wheresthebloodywebsite.com
    hit Enter (replace with the correct domain)
    you should get Pinging (your domain.com) [ip address here]

    Then do the same on your laptop connected to the wifi. I suspect you will get a very different address.
    See if you can manually change your DNS server in IP4 settings, Network Control Panel to 8.8.8.8. They may well currently be set to auto.
    Depending on how the Vermin DNS server work they may still filter all DNS requests and supply their own responce, in that case call them up and explain a domain (www.myinvisblesite.com) changed DNS a week ago and their DNS servers appear to have not updated.
     
    AMGeed likes this.
  7. OP
    OP
    AMGeed

    AMGeed MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    11,395
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bournemouth/Poole Dorset
    Car:
    2004 W211 E55K ///AMG
    ^ Going out shortly Mark, but will try this later this evening.
    Many thanks to you Karl and Graeme for the input.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    AMGeed

    AMGeed MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    11,395
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bournemouth/Poole Dorset
    Car:
    2004 W211 E55K ///AMG
    Here's the results from tracert.
    First scan using a VPN
    Second one with Wi Fi turned on
    Last one Wi fi disconnected.

    Doesn't mean much to me I'm afraid.

    tracert.JPG tracert2.JPG
     
  9. markmifsud

    markmifsud Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,199
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    North Weald, Essex and Bromley, London
    Car:
    CLK320 CAB (A208) 02
    I am not 100% sure whats going on here. It is Not DNS related as all lookups are correct. All 3 routes are exiting via the same node on as2086 so I guess it could be an active firewall on the new server. All my external facing servers run fail2ban which will auto ban depending on rule matches. Ask Mark (forum admin) to investigate.
     
    AMGeed likes this.
  10. markmifsud

    markmifsud Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,199
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    North Weald, Essex and Bromley, London
    Car:
    CLK320 CAB (A208) 02
    Looks like they are running something like fail2ban. I did a tracert
    C:\Users\mark>tracert forums.mercedesclub.org.uk

    Tracing route to forums.mercedesclub.org.uk [213.175.200.226]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:
    1 1 ms 1 ms 3 ms BTHomeHub.home [192.168.1.254]
    2 * * * Request timed out.
    3 * * * Request timed out.
    4 10 ms 8 ms * 31.55.186.188
    5 9 ms 7 ms 9 ms core3-hu0-16-0-3.faraday.ukcore.bt.net [195.99.127.198]
    6 7 ms 9 ms 11 ms core2-te-0-0-0-17.ilford.ukcore.bt.net [62.172.1 03.156]
    7 11 ms 9 ms 14 ms 109.159.253.105
    8 24 ms 13 ms 15 ms be1.asr01.dc4.as20860.net [130.180.202.22]
    9 10 ms 12 ms 11 ms be2.asr02.dc4.as20860.net [130.180.202.20]
    10 13 ms 13 ms 13 ms be1.asr02.dc3.as20860.net [130.180.202.18]
    11 17 ms 13 ms 13 ms 3190.asr920-1.dc3.as20860.net [130.180.203.191]
    12 19 ms 19 ms 14 ms euk-89638.eukservers.com [213.175.200.226]
    Trace complete.

    Then I ran a quick nmap scan, now I cannot access the site (no loss as I haven't been there for 3 years or so now)
    Tracert now
    C:\Users\mark>tracert forums.mercedesclub.org.uk

    Tracing route to forums.mercedesclub.org.uk [213.175.200.226]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms BTHomeHub.home [192.168.1.254]
    2 * * * Request timed out.
    3 * * * Request timed out.
    4 13 ms 11 ms 10 ms 31.55.186.188
    5 8 ms 7 ms 7 ms core3-hu0-16-0-3.faraday.ukcore.bt.net [195.99.127.198]
    6 8 ms 7 ms 6 ms peer7-et-0-0-0.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net [62.172.103.156]
    7 11 ms 11 ms 11 ms 109.159.253.105
    8 16 ms 16 ms 29 ms be1.asr01.dc4.as20860.net [130.180.202.22]
    9 13 ms 10 ms 10 ms be2.asr02.dc4.as20860.net [130.180.202.20]
    10 15 ms 17 ms * be1.asr02.dc3.as20860.net [130.180.202.18]
    11 25 ms 45 ms 54 ms 3190.asr920-1.dc3.as20860.net [130.180.203.191]
    12 * * * Request timed out.
    13 * * * Request timed out.
    14 * * * Request timed out.
    15 * * * Request timed out.
    16 * * * Request timed out.
    17 * * * Request timed out.
    18 * * * Request timed out.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.