What Chat Client?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Spinal

MB Enthusiast
Car
x254, G350, Duster, S320, Mach1, 900ss and a few more
As the title suggests, I'm looking for suggestions over what chat client to use... I've uses MSN Messeger/Windows Live messenger till now (and am quite happy); but I also need to connect to .Mac accounts (i.e. iChat people) which MSN doesn't do.

There are a plethora of articles on the net on how to add MSN accounts to iChat, but not the other way around...

I'm thinking maybe something that uses Jabber, but then again, Jabber doesn't directly support .Mac...

The only thing that supports .Mac on windows is AIM, but I would a)prefer not to have more than 1 chat client, and b)NOT use anything that ever was aol'ed....

Ideas?

What about the Akiva service used by Orange + EveryWhereChat? I'm not an expert but I do now it's a nice client to use and is very clear, non-cluttered + configurable for the user. All sorts of users on there, my point being many on Macs without trouble. Hope that helps a bit.

wallingd said:
What about the Akiva service used by Orange + EveryWhereChat? I'm not an expert but I do now it's a nice client to use and is very clear, non-cluttered + configurable for the user. All sorts of users on there, my point being many on Macs without trouble. Hope that helps a bit.

Never heard of them! Can't even find them on google! (I'll look better in a few mins); but the problem is, I don't need it to be "installable" on macs, I need it to communicate with .Mac accounts (<dot>Mac, not macs). .Mac/iChat is a macintosh propietary chat protocol (which also supports video conferencing and a few other gimmicks), kind of like MSN actually.