What influences your preference towards Mercedes (e.g. compared to Audi/BMW)?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

MBUK

Car
Mercedes A-Class 160 CDI
Hello everyone,

one thing is certain: different people have different preferences concerning cars. You all have made a decision in favour of the brand Mercedes.
I was intrigued by the question which factors influence peoples‘ preferences towards specific car brands and how brand images are developed over time.

I’m a postgraduate student in Strategic Marketing in London and am currently addressing this topic in the context of a coursework.

I would be very glad if you could support me and take part in my survey at: https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/PremiumCarMarketUK (it will take less than 5 minutes; self-evidently all data will be treated confidentially).

I would also love to hear/ discuss your opinions on the topic within this thread.

Thanks a lot in advance!

Best,
Sabrina

Hope your survey is successful, sorry I'm not in the mood to tackle it right now, but a couple of factors that don't appear to be covered by the Qs:

+ve advantage to Mercedes v Audi/BMW- substantially more heritage;

-ve advantage to Mercedes- popular images of Audi & BMW owners seem to have more negative connotations (ask Top Gear...).

Done.

But, since the questions didn't match my situation:

• MB estate had a bigger load area than an A6 Avant and I got a better deal
  • I'd rather have typhoid than a BMW.
  • Wanted to return to a premium brand with decent quality and a V6 rather than driving a sqeaky plastic interior wtih a four pot oil burner

Survey looks too much like hard work, but....

For the first time in a decade, I havn't got a bmw on the drive.
I've got a Merc because of a cheap lease deal = Value for money for a decent brand
I've got Audi because I wanted a fast convertible and fancied a change from BMW
Neither drive as well as a decent BMW, which is what they will be replaced by.

Done.