Where are the files?

Discussion in 'PC and I.T support/Advice posts' started by gbjeppm, Aug 2, 2008.

  1. gbjeppm

    gbjeppm Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,778
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Location:
    Surrey
    Car:
    C207 E Coupe 350cdi, W166 ML 250 Cdi Sport, R171 SLK 350, Suzuki V Strom DL650
    Ok PC Gurus.

    I have an XP machine that won't boot, I can get it to the Recovery console, but cannot copy files off the machine due to XP security, and I need the outlook PST file from the C drive, all of the remaining data is on the D partition.

    I am happy to reinstall on the C drive, once I have got hold of the PST file.

    I then decided to borrow a USB Hard Drive reader, so put the hard drive in, and can see all of the files on the D partition, but nothing at all in the C partition.

    Any ideas please would be appreciated.
     
  2. WLeg

    WLeg Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,301
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, Sao Paulo, LAgos, Houston
    Car:
    CT-200h, VW Polo, Rav4,
    Can you see the partition at all ?
     
  3. columb

    columb Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    461
    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    Exeter, Devon
    Car:
    W212
    You need to see partition first.
    I would try to use LiveLinux and see what's on drive.
    Mount READ-ONLY!

    Also, you can try to use (best in my opinion) recovery tool from Ontrac.

    You are looking for Hiren's boot cd.

    Cheers
    Chris
     
  4. OP
    OP
    gbjeppm

    gbjeppm Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,778
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Location:
    Surrey
    Car:
    C207 E Coupe 350cdi, W166 ML 250 Cdi Sport, R171 SLK 350, Suzuki V Strom DL650
    No I can't see the partition from the USB hard drive reader, although I can in XP recovery console
     
  5. Inkyskin

    Inkyskin Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    518
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Just to be sure - was the hardrive partitioned? It may be that since the drive is hooked up to a new system, it wont be displayed as C, but the next logical letter (Possibly in this case D)...
     
  6. OP
    OP
    gbjeppm

    gbjeppm Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,778
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Location:
    Surrey
    Car:
    C207 E Coupe 350cdi, W166 ML 250 Cdi Sport, R171 SLK 350, Suzuki V Strom DL650
    No drive was defo partitioned, and I am assuming as being displayed through a USB reader, the USB device will only show as one drive letter.
     
  7. columb

    columb Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    461
    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    Exeter, Devon
    Car:
    W212
    Use something else-like linux.
    You can mount partition c: by typing command:

    mount /dev/?d?1 /mnt/

    now:
    /dev/hda if that is first IDE drive
    /dev/sda if that is first SAS/SATA/SCSI drive
    /dev/hdb if that is 2nd IDE drive
    /dev/sdb if that is 2nd SAS/SATA/SCSI drive

    so, let say it is 1st SATA drive:

    mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/ <-- C partition would be first
    ls -l /mnt/

    and tell me what you can see!

    Cheers
    Chris
     
  8. OP
    OP
    gbjeppm

    gbjeppm Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,778
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Location:
    Surrey
    Car:
    C207 E Coupe 350cdi, W166 ML 250 Cdi Sport, R171 SLK 350, Suzuki V Strom DL650
    OK solved, silly assumption was that machine only had one hard drive, it had 2. (it is not mine by the way)
    Doh!!! wasted hours, thanks for all input
     
  9. Dragon

    Dragon Banned

    Messages:
    1,294
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    We know you an expert in Linux, how do you expect someone who had been using MS Win for so long to command prompt type those lines. Won't a GUI Linux be simpler?
     
  10. columb

    columb Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    461
    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    Exeter, Devon
    Car:
    W212
    No. Possibly he will have to FORCE mount of a partition and indicate what filesystem was there.
    It is serious sytuation and GUI will not help!

    Cheers
    Chris

    btw. I'm using GUI as well :) But there are times when you can't use GUI.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.