Why driving bans don't work?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Fines don't work either - people like that simply don't pay them.

Community service doesn't work either - they don't turn up.

Prison doesn't work either - he'll be out in 10 months or less and carry on where he left off.

That's why there are so many disqualified drivers on the road and prisons are a revolving door for habitual re-offenders.

As the traditional punishments clearly provide no deterrent, perhaps we need to move onto something that does.

Removing a body part should slow him down a bit.

I'm no lawyer but couldn't repeatedly flouting driving bans be considered contempt of court, for which the penalties are, I believe, unlimited?

How about bringing back transportation to the Colonies ? Antarctica is nice this time of year :)

They don't work for career criminals, and people who the judicial system is a part of life.

They work for the rest of us. I had a 28 day driving ban early on in my driving career and it massively inconvenienced me. I've never done the thing I did again. To be fair, I was unlikely to have done the thing again anyway, but the 28 days felt like a year.

Perhaps a more traditional / archaic method of punishment, as was used on ships might help the offender remember not to be a naughty boy. Some people just leave behind the rules of conventional society and need treating in a non conventional way.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cat_o'_nine_tails

Mr Schwingen should be 'schwingen' from the end of a rope! That'd stop him taking the p*ss!

Or am I being too non-pc?

Fines don't work either - people like that simply don't pay them.

Community service doesn't work either - they don't turn up.

Prison doesn't work either - he'll be out in 10 months or less and carry on where he left off.

That's why there are so many disqualified drivers on the road and prisons are a revolving door for habitual re-offenders.