Windows 7/ Imac Problem

Discussion in 'PC and I.T support/Advice posts' started by l5foye, May 4, 2019.

  1. l5foye

    l5foye Active Member

    Messages:
    815
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Car:
    ML 300CDI
    I have Windows 7 running on an Imac. Due to a problem (loss of internet connection) I put Windows in safe mode to run a system restore. The trouble I have now is how to get out of safe mode. For Windows, it would be press F7 (or is it 8?) . But what do I on an Apple pc? Any advice will be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. James Copeland

    James Copeland Active Member

    Messages:
    292
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Location:
    Rugby
    Car:
    C250 CGI Estate
  3. AltonAnt

    AltonAnt Active Member

    Messages:
    747
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Car:
    2002 S203 C240
    Run OSK which is an on screen keyboard from the accessibility options.
     
  4. John

    John Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    12,110
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Location:
    Daan Saaf
    Car:
    I wish.
    If you have initiated a System Restore, the machine should be rebooting itself and running in normal mode after that.

    Otherwise just reboot it.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    l5foye

    l5foye Active Member

    Messages:
    815
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Car:
    ML 300CDI
    Thanks for the replies. The trouble is after a system restore, it is not rebooting itself. I am stuck with pc being in safe mode and cannot get past that.
     
  6. AMGeed

    AMGeed Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    12,813
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bournemouth/Poole Dorset
    Car:
    2014 E63 Biturbo
    You need to restart and access the BIOS (F2?) and change the boot up from safe mode, save and exit. Then shut down and restart the PC.
     
  7. John

    John Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    12,110
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Location:
    Daan Saaf
    Car:
    I wish.
    In that case, go to START > RUN and start MSCONFIG.

    Ensure the radio button is set to Normal Startup and then reboot...
     
  8. Pontoneer

    Pontoneer Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    13,253
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Location:
    Ayrshire
    Car:
    '99 S320 W140 ; '93 300SL-24 R129
    Yes , to OSX
     
  9. markmifsud

    markmifsud MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,271
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    North Weald, Essex and Bromley, London
    Car:
    CLK320 CAB (A208) 02
    As John says, try MSCONFIG to reset boot mode
    upload_2019-9-9_9-20-57.png
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.