Windscreen Q's & A's

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

FITTER

Car
mitsubishi evo 8 mr 340
Hello.

I'm a qualified windscreen tech and have worked for the two biggest firms out there, and have experience that only sounds like boasting, so i won't bother mentioning..
I'm want to help out with ANYONES worries, troubles, faults, issues or whatever else you may need answering feel free to ask away...

FITTER, many thanks! It is very kind.

May I be the first to ask...
smile.gif

My windscreen has a few very tiny chips, they look like a speck of dust, but you know it is a chip because the tip of your fingernail 'sinks' into it.

Recently I was hit by a stone on the motorway and acquired a new chip, the 'bullseye' type, the area you can feel with your fingertip on the surface is probably well under 1mm in diameter, with a visible horizontal 'crack' underneath (between the layers) that measures around 2mm. It is rather small overall and does not go all the way through to the inner side though.

OK, I don't expect you to repair my windscreen online... :D

But perhaps you could post some pictures of small stone chips that should be attended to, and also examples of those which can be left alone... I would hazard a guess that there other members here who may be wondering if they should call Autoglass.

Well my over-riding concern would be knowing whether the windscreen replacement job's being done correctly or not, with particular reference to making sure the new screen's been seated and sealed properly (no leaks). Also, of course, the body aperture / flange needs to be properly prepared and anything removed like wipers / cowling / rubber trim etc needs to be put back properly. I don't need a new windscreen at present on any of my cars and I dread the day I do. Can you recommend someone in the West Midlands who will do a spot on job should the need arise ?

Hi there, it's no troubles.