Wiring multiple 12v sockets and inverter into W124

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Cleggmeister

Car
1990 W124 200E
Hi again!

I use quite a lot of devices in my car and I'd love a wee project to wire in some more 12v sockets and an inverter (all of which I have purchased).

The issue is me, I have no experience working on car wiring.

Please could you suggest where I might locate a feed for my 12v sockets, preferably near the centre console or passenger footwell, and where I can get a feed for the inverter, preferably under one of the front seats?

The car is a base-spec 200E from 1990. No electric seats, windows, etc - absolutely base spec.

Many thanks in advance!

Cleggy.

Back of the fag lighter should be ok for the 12v sockets. Switched live, earth and illumination will all be available.

Finally getting round to this, going to mount the multi-block thing in the glovebox and wire it back to the cigarette lighter as recommended. I need to make an educated guess re the adaptor - it has a black wire and a black/white wire. Which would be positive??! It's not possible to see where it's wired to... Oh, and I guess that positive is the "centre" pin and negative is the "outer" on a car lighter?

Have you worked out the total load you will be drawing? The supply cable for the lighter soocket may not be up to supplying that amount of current.

I would take a direct feed from the battery.

You need to calculate the load first. How big is the inverter?

You need
a) A fuse that is big enough for the load. If this is wrong, fuse will blow. You need to calculate this from the total load in Watts you will need and assume a battery voltage of 10V as in fact your car will probably start and run happily with 10V battery voltage. (We had a W211 in yesterday that was running on 9.1V just .. alternator had failed)