X Reg E320 CDI

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Reecep86

Car
E320 CDI
Evening all

I have recently purchased a E320 CDI and it started and drove home fine, stopped for fuel, stated back up fine. Got home, turned off, took my dad out, got back and then my brother wanted to see the car. Took him out to it and it doesn't turn over.
I put the key in, turn the ignition on, turn it again to start but just turns over and doesn't fire. I'm new to Mercedes so not to sure where to start.
When the ignition is on the glow plugs go on then off, there's the yellow warning triangle top middle that's on, LIM light, abs and bas?!? I think?

When I turn the jet to start all these dim but stay on and the car turns over but won't start.

Any ideas please guys? Like I said I'm new to all this so a little lost

Much appreciated in advance

Reece

Usually those lights turn up on mine when the battery is low or knackered. I have 7 of these and its usually goes away

If it turns over the battery is fine.

Crank position sensor probably because the car will not start when warm. Leave it and see if it starts when cold.

Hi all

Thank you for the replies

The car started after it was left for an hour or two and seems to be starting first time so far. It does seem like I have to hold my foot down on the throttle to get it started though?

Thanks in advance

Reece

Hi all

Thank you for the replies

The car started after it was left for an hour or two and seems to be starting first time so far. It does seem like I have to hold my foot down on the throttle to get it started though?

Thanks in advance

Reece

If the problem is your Crank position sensor, it will either cut out when the engine is hot, or fail to restart. You really need to take the car to a MB independent garage where they can test the sensor or read any stored fault codes.