Xenon Headlight, SCN coding and tourist mode

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by liamski007, May 19, 2017.

  1. liamski007

    liamski007 New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Car:
    E350 CDI (2009)
    thought I might share these musings...I bought a control module off eBay, xenon headlight control module. It is a Hella unit, same as the Mercedes OEM but half the price. I fitted it myself - (quite easy) only to discover it didn't activate the main beam. After a few phone calls to Mercedes I was advised it needed to be SCN coded (which I had never heard of) but they would not do it as it was not bought from them. This left me having to find an independent Merc mechanic who happened to be 30 miles away but was indeed able to code it...the main beam now worked. However, my usual mechanic (who is actually an MOT inspector as well) advised me that the dipped beam was throwing onto oncoming traffic as opposed to the hedge and this was an MOT failure. I contacted the indie Merc mechanic again and took it down for him to have another look. He discovered that the software in the control module was in 'tourist' mode and quickly remedied this for me at no charge. I thought some of the good people on this forum might not know this and be interested to learn of my difficulties. Apparently the thing can be programmed if the vehicle is going to be driven in continental Europe. So finally I now have a fully working headlight.

    To be honest I've never had so much trouble getting a headlight to work again and never so costly. I never had any issues with halogen headlights other than to change bulbs. Some people may not like the colour of halogens but I would say to Mercedes, "simplicity is the hallmark of genius". A non-working headlight should not cause so much grief. I don't need intelligent headlights, ones that turn round corners etc....ok, I do like autodip but I could live without it. Why try to re-invent the wheel. Just give me lights that work which all my previous cars did.

    Anyway, rant over.

    Liam
     
    2 people like this.
  2. BIG UN

    BIG UN Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    977
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Derbyshire Born & Bred
    Car:
    Mercedes Vito Sport,Mercedes CLK Brabus, Alfa Romeo Alfetta
    What model was this on??

    Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
     
  3. BIG UN

    BIG UN Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    977
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Derbyshire Born & Bred
    Car:
    Mercedes Vito Sport,Mercedes CLK Brabus, Alfa Romeo Alfetta
    If it says on the heading I apologise as it doesn't show anything on my phone!!

    Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
     
  4. OP
    OP
    liamski007

    liamski007 New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Car:
    E350 CDI (2009)
    apologies, should have stated the model..it's 2009 E350 CDi (V6 Diesel)......212 chassis
     
  5. bob6600

    bob6600 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    5,581
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Car:
    AUDI S8 V10, S210 E320 CDI (R.I.P.)
    Thank you for the post Liam, it answers my question recently posted as to whether the control unit (ballast) needs SCN coding or not
     
  6. OP
    OP
    liamski007

    liamski007 New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Car:
    E350 CDI (2009)
    no worries Bob.....I get a lot knowledge myself from these forums and thought it was time to share some of my own limited knowledge. I haven't logged in here for a while but would have replied to you if I had seen your post.
     
  7. bob6600

    bob6600 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    5,581
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Car:
    AUDI S8 V10, S210 E320 CDI (R.I.P.)
    There is a lot of conflicting information, some say SCN needed, some say Xentry will do it. Oh well, off to someone who can SCN code this to get it working properly.

    I can see why it's done, to stop the use of stolen parts but it causes so much grief!
     
  8. BIG UN

    BIG UN Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    977
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Derbyshire Born & Bred
    Car:
    Mercedes Vito Sport,Mercedes CLK Brabus, Alfa Romeo Alfetta
    This is interesting as I've recently retro fitted BI XENON's to my Vito & although they work up to a point not exactly how I'd imagine!! Maybe this could be the cause of my issue!! I think I need to check this! Is there a SCN code for the ballast resistor or is it a case of activating something on star ( ticking a box )

    Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
     
  9. bob6600

    bob6600 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    5,581
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Car:
    AUDI S8 V10, S210 E320 CDI (R.I.P.)
    I would imagine same scenario. Did you have to change the control units? Can you see them in Xentry?
     
  10. BIG UN

    BIG UN Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    977
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Derbyshire Born & Bred
    Car:
    Mercedes Vito Sport,Mercedes CLK Brabus, Alfa Romeo Alfetta
    Mine never had the ballast resistors in there before, so I need to find them on Star! I've had trouble with Star finding the level sensor control module!

    Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
     
  11. angelmae

    angelmae New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2018
    Location:
    staffordshire
    Car:
    mercedes e350
    hi liamsky007 were was it u took your unit to be coded please as iv got one needs doing how much cost thanks nigel
     
  12. wezzley

    wezzley New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Hi all, I can report a similar issue - E350 CDI 2012 coupe. I purchased a 'Headlight control module' from Hella. Local mechanic fitted but reported that full beam would not work and needed 'reprogramming'. I must admit the possibility I was being taken for a ride crossed my mind until I saw this thread. Extra cost for this reprogramming was £100+vat...they took it to another local place to get done apparently. My area is hertfordshire. Still worked out cheaper than buying the part from the main dealer. In case anyone is interested I also bought the Hella complete headlight unit from europarts for about 550.
     
  13. Horace101

    Horace101 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2019
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    C63
    Good
    Good morning
    I have just replaced the headlight module and it needs recoding I’m also in Hertfordshire can you please advise where this can be done. Many thanks Ian
     
  14. Rorywquin

    Rorywquin Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,180
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Location:
    God's County
    Car:
    SL400
    Yep sometimes things are not as cheap as they seem and are cheap for reason......hope you get it sorted.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.