xp professional

Discussion in 'PC and I.T support/Advice posts' started by nick mercedes, Jul 24, 2011.

  1. nick mercedes

    nick mercedes MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    7,107
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    far far away
    Car:
    Ford Expedition
    Where can I get some XP professional recovery disks from?

    Nobody seems to sell them on ebay or amazon??
     
  2. FenandGreyDog

    FenandGreyDog New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Car:
    ML 270Cdi
    1 person likes this.
  3. timskemp

    timskemp Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,090
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    Hull
    Car:
    W213 E220d
    If you're after an OS disk then any that matches your key will do, so OEM for OEM, Retail for Retail. If the install doesn't authorise call microsoft and they'll issue you a new key when you explain.
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. whizzkid11

    whizzkid11 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    781
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Over Here!
    Car:
    .
    Whereabouts are you based in the UK? I have XP Pro CD you can have a copy of.
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. OP
    OP
    nick mercedes

    nick mercedes MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    7,107
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    far far away
    Car:
    Ford Expedition
    I'm in Surrey.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    nick mercedes

    nick mercedes MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    7,107
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    far far away
    Car:
    Ford Expedition
    I brought some ex-lease Dell computers off ebay, they've got the XP Prof COA on them but have had Windows 7 installed, which I assume won't last long, so do I need a Dell OEM disc?
     
  7. timskemp

    timskemp Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,090
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    Hull
    Car:
    W213 E220d
    You don't need the Dell disc, but if you do get hold of one it will work without registration as Dell discs are coded to the BIOS on most Dell machines.
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. OP
    OP
    nick mercedes

    nick mercedes MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    7,107
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    far far away
    Car:
    Ford Expedition
    I assume all I need to do is put the disc in 9when I track one down) and when asked give it the code off the stickers on the backs of the various computers?
     
  9. timskemp

    timskemp Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,090
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    Hull
    Car:
    W213 E220d
    Yep, but if it's a dell disk it might not even ask!
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. whizzkid11

    whizzkid11 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    781
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Over Here!
    Car:
    .
    If you use an OEM disk, it 'shouldn't' ask you for a key as it is aligned to use the motherboard chip/bios for identification.

    With HP systems it certainly does not ask for a key.
     
  11. davidjpowell

    davidjpowell Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,891
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Car:
    Range Rover Vogue, Volvo XC60 and crappy Pug 307
    Had this issue recently. Downloaded off a certain site a Dell OEM CD. Did not even ask for serial (although it was available)...

    Can try and track the CD down and post it if necessary.
     
  12. whizzkid11

    whizzkid11 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    781
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Over Here!
    Car:
    .
    I have uploaded a HP version of Windows XP Pro OEM with SP2 on my site - it is a standard oem version which ships with HP PCs and does not have any HP specific installs. All of the HP stuff is on their Application and Driver disk.

    I would download the iso image, burn it to a CD and try it.

    Heres the link again.
     
  13. clever dicky

    clever dicky Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    421
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Car:
    Jag
    Hi whizkid, hope you dont mind, but I just blagged a copy of your xp too. I also have win7 I'm using but my desktop is an old machine and runs like a pig. Which Id like to put xp back on but couldnt find the cd, so thank you.
    It has a xp sticker on it still so if needed should work with that.
     
  14. whizzkid11

    whizzkid11 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    781
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Over Here!
    Car:
    .
    No probs CleverDicky!

    Its up here if anybody needs it, will take it down when I need the space. This is just media, its the license for the WinXP that causes legal issues.

    Just rechecked, this is a generic Win XP Pro OEM - so should work with any manufacturer that shipped their systems with Win XP.
     
  15. racall

    racall Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    724
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Location:
    london
    Car:
    Silver C270 oil burner Silver R172SLK
    Many thanks
    Copied iso to desktop How do i burn it to a cd??
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2011
  16. racall

    racall Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    724
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Location:
    london
    Car:
    Silver C270 oil burner Silver R172SLK
    Ok i cracked it!!!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.