Yet another watch thread.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Meldrew2

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Car
Mine: BMW X4 2.0d M-Sport (Red) Hers: BMW X1 2.0d M-Sport (Black) Sorry about that...
I have an Omega Seamaster as my everyday watch, which I bought via the For Sale of this forum, and which I am very happy with. As I have fairly large wrists, it doesn't look too big, and is very comfortable.

JBondSeamasterCo-Axial.jpg

I'd always wanted a Rolex - so when I was given some money a year or two ago, I bought a 1987 Oyster Perpetual - like the photo here but without the date window.

Rolex%20Oyster%20Perpetual%20Date.jpg

It's about the last of the ones with the plastic lens, before they started fitting crystal ones, but that didn't worry me, as I only wanted it for occasional evening wear.

However, it looks tiny on my wrist, so today I finally succumbed to temptation and spent what little profit I have made this year (so please can I start advertising caravan holidays on the forum) on a 2007 Submariner.

16613BLU.jpg

I took along my Oyster Perpetual to the jewellers, with the hope of PX.

I was pretty disappointed - while the Submariner was a good price, I was only offered £550 for the oyster perpetual which I bought for £1075 a couple of years ago.

As my daughter has just got married, I decided against PXing the oyster perpetual, as it will make a great 18th (or 21st) birthday present for the grand-son that may be produced - I'd been hoping for nearer £800 PX, which would have allowed the jeweller a couple of hundred pounds' profit.

As the Submariner was a few hundred below others I have seen (and still A1 quality with box, papers etc) I don't feel that I have lost out overall, but it just seems that if the oyster perpetual is worth half what I paid after 2 years (on a 1987 watch) will my Submariner lose value as quickly.