Hackers take control of a moving car

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

markmifsud

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Car
Insignia VXR 2.8t (2017) SuperSport, AWD, eLSD / Gone :( CLK320 CAB (A208) 02
I work in IT so I see ethical hacking as a good thing and often do it myself. Sometimes the only way to know your secure it to try and break in. But, what these hackers achieved is quite worrying. Unsure how Chrysler got away with not doing a recall.

Hackers Show They Can Take Control of Moving Jeep Cherokee - WSJ

Just one more reason why self driving cars will not become a reality...thankfully.

Just one more reason why self driving cars will not become a reality...thankfully.

I think they're inevitable.

But I think perhaps 20 years for them to become prevalent. And some time after that to become mandatory in designated urban areas/routes and on motorways.

Consider that the population density of areas such as the SE England is increasing quite rapidly (say 50% in 25 years) - if self-driving cars allow higher traffic density without loss of speed/safety then they are an obvious solution.

All systems that are connected to the internet are potentially hackable. I don't know why anyone would be more worried about cars being hackable than, say, power plants or defence systems.

Hi,
They are effectively here already - just take a look at the Distronic+ system with the automated steering that is available on current Mercedes models and the extra enhancements coming on the new E class.
You set the speed - car accelerates and brakes itself according to vehicles in front, either keeps between white lines or follows line of car in front, uses GPS and speed limit signs to check whether within limit.
Thus is all now!!
Cheers
Steve

All systems that are connected to the internet are potentially hackable. I don't know why anyone would be more worried about cars being hackable than, say, power plants or defence systems.

Cars are consumer grade cr*p.