Help diagnosing start issues '89 300CE M103

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Hank the Tank

Car
300SE '85, '88 300CE
Could I press on the forums wisdom regarding issues I am having with both cold and hot starting on my '89 300CE. I am not a professional mechanic but reasonably competent amateur with some experience of Jet tronic systems from BMW bikes which I restore.

The car has been laid up for about 6 months and I got it started and moving about 2 weeks ago unfortunately it stalled coming home (luckily right at my gate) and would not restart until this morning.

The warm/hot restart issue was there before laying it up and that was the reason for changing the fuel pressure regulator and the Pumps.

The symptoms:
Car turns over very lively but does not fire, eventually when the key is released from the start position it attempts to fire, sometimes catching on one or two cylinders before popping and dying. (This has me thinking Crank sensor/Timing off)

After giving the battery good charge overnight I actually got it starting and running this morning, after letting it idle up to temperature I tried to move it but it stalled and will not restart.

The pumps and fuel Pressure regulator are new and priming/puming ok.

I have removed and opened the OVP relay to check it and it is in good condition inside and out.

I have checked the EZL and distributor contacts are clean and dry.

Spark plugs changed.

New distributor cap and rotor installed recently.

Sprayed a bit of WD40 on the crank sensor wires last night in case of dampness.

Can anybody point me at a diagnostic process that can help me a) get it running and b) resolve the hot restart issue.

All thoughts, inputs and opinions considered and appreciated.

The symptoms: