Help with wheel choice (mainly the offset!)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

gjp77

Car
E Class W212
Evening all,

I'm new to being a Mercedes owner & also to doing any type of modifications.

I very much want to buy some new wheels for my E Class saloon but I'm so confused as to what the best thing to do is...

Ideally I want to stick with original Mercedes wheels and I have found a set of 18" on ebay that are described as:

THESE WHEELS ARE 5X112 PCD WITH A 35MM OFFSET. STAGGERED FIT 8.5J FRONT AND 9.5J REAR.

The seller assures me they are fine for my w212 but looking through the owners manual the recommended offsets and wheel widths for 18" are different.

Will these be ok or am I being misled? Is there a minimum and maximum offset value that anything in between will be ok?

Any advice or help will be greatly appreciated! Thanks

The correct ET for your W212 is front et48 and rear ET54.

If you get the eBay wheels the fronts will be 13mm further out and the rears 19mm. There is a danger they could foul the arches, especially the rears. The seller is telling you porkies that they will fit.

Check the W212 AMG offsets below.
Mercedes-Benz Fitting Chart and Wheel Fitment Guide | Alloy Wheels Direct

Welcome to the forum too:thumb:

Thanks guys.

I'd already checked that thread out re all the different sizes etc and the info there is the same as in the owners handbook.

So do I have to 100% absolutely stick to the sizes/specs in the handbook or is there room for manoeuvre with the offset? This is what I'm struggling to understand...

I've been browsing through all the alloy websites and as I said ideally I'd like to stick with proper MB wheels (mainly because of having the proper centre caps) but if I go for other wheels is getting the offsets as close to the handbook recommendations ok??

will these fit?

...so going by the fitting chart the following wheels would be ok to fit on an e class w212?

18" 8.5j et40 all round