Running in period....

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

sparkynw

Car
BMW X4 335d MSport,MINI Countryman SD JCW, vivaro sport, nc30, cbr600rr
Hi all, I am 600 miles in on my cla45 and I'm resisting sport + just about!
I've read a lot about the need to baby the car for the first 1k but as there's no run in oil to change and the things are so well engineered I'm curious as to why so many miles are necessary to 'bed' things in? Ok the first 100 maybe or if different oil was required over a certain engine temp but why so long? As I say I live my car and will do what is necessary I'm just not a mechanical engineer and wonder what the reasons are? I've also read to use the paddles, don't use them? Motorway miles don't count??:dk:

Hi all, I am 600 miles in on my cla45 and I'm resisting sport + just about!
I've read a lot about the need to baby the car for the first 1k but as there's no run in oil to change and the things are so well engineered I'm curious as to why so many miles are necessary to 'bed' things in? Ok the first 100 maybe or if different oil was required over a certain engine temp but why so long? As I say I live my car and will do what is necessary I'm just not a mechanical engineer and wonder what the reasons are? I've also read to use the paddles, don't use them? Motorway miles don't count??:dk:

Seen as you seem to be still living in the 1970's why not sick a sign in the back window saying "running in" and drive up the M1 at 40 mph ? :D

Seriously, modern engines and oil negates the need for excessive running in.

Last couple of new cars I've had, last one in 2010 stated in the manual to not exceed 4,000rpm for 600 miles or over 80mph!

As the manufacturer gives specific instructions for the break in period, it's safe to assume that there are sound reasons for following them.