Wheel thread engagement

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

joshd1994

Car
Mercedes C Class Coupe 2012 C204 180 CGI
Hi guys

I have standard oem 18' Mercedes alloys and I have just fitted 15mm spacers at the rear and I need a bit of a confidence boost on the length of the bolts I have used.

The originals have 27 mm of thread and engage with 6.5 turns. I have bought new 40mm bolts which engage very slightly under 6 turns (say 5.8 turns).

Do youse think this will be ok or not or am I being a bit paranoid?

Cheers

Hello Josh, I have just joined the forum. I work in engineering, although I am not a mechanical engineering practitioner as such. There are engineering standards for just about everything mechanical however. This includes thread engagement required to achieve full tensile load rating for bolts. Afraid I don't know the relevant standards to point you to though. Bolt torque is critical too. Hopefully a proper Mech Eng will read this and advise further.

Hi guys

I have standard oem 18' Mercedes alloys and I have just fitted 15mm spacers at the rear and I need a bit of a confidence boost on the length of the bolts I have used.

The originals have 27 mm of thread and engage with 6.5 turns. I have bought new 40mm bolts which engage very slightly under 6 turns (say 5.8 turns).

Do youse think this will be ok or not or am I being a bit paranoid?

Cheers

If the original bolt thread length was 27mm, surly you would need a bolt with 42mm long thread? after fitting a 15m spacer to keep it within Oe spec?

On the CLS the standard threaded part of the bolt protrudes by 20mm front and rear, this should equate to just over 13 turns until the tapers touch.

BUT - there is the thickness of the disc before you get to the threads on the hub , possibly 5mm , so in reality there will be around 9 - 10 turns of actual thread that hold the wheel, so i would be aiming for that figure.

Kenny