• The Forums are now open to new registrations, adverts are also being de-tuned.

BATTERY INDICATOR ON LION BATTERY

johnsco

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Car
E280CDI SPORTS ESTATE and C200 KOMPRESSOR SE Coupe Auto (1.8 lit petrol)
A simple question .... If you know the answer !
My recently-acquired 2005 C200 Kompressor suffered a flat battery recently - Not sure why - I'm still learning plenty about this car.
I removed the battery to charge it.
The battery is a Lion 100 ... First time I've ever had a Lion battery - I usually fit Bosch.
On the battery top there is a little indicator window.
When I'd charged the battery, the indicator appeared colourless.
When I moved the battery, it intermittantly flickered between green and colourless.
I'm guessing that this means that the battery acid level is low. (although the battery is fully charged).
I'm inclined to add a small amount of distilled water in the hope that this will raise the level slightly so that the indicator will work.
Any thoughts guys ??
Advice appreciated.

While I had the battery out, there was a pool of rain-water under the battery tray.
I removed the battery tray, broddled out the drain hole, and all the water ran out.
I washed the area with clean water to get rid of leaf residues and general gunge.
It was good to see that there was no corrosion in the area - Not always the case under battery trays !
It's only a couple of weeks ago that I had to clear all the drain holes and tubes from the area in front of the windscreen.
I'm afraid that this car has been pretty-shabbily maintained.

As said - I have usually chosen Bosch batteries in the past.
Lion are certainly much cheaper.
Does anyone have any good or bad experiences of them ?

Thanks.
John

A simple question .... If you know the answer !
My recently-acquired 2005 C200 Kompressor suffered a flat battery recently - Not sure why - I'm still learning plenty about this car.
I removed the battery to charge it.