• The Forums are now open to new registrations, adverts are also being de-tuned.

Vito 122cdi Coolant Temperature Issue

hondaman

Car
Mercedes Vito Dualiner 122cdi
Hi,
I'm a newbie on this forum and hopefully I'm posting this in the correct section.
I have a problem that's driving me crazy, and after many hours and much expense cannot suss out.
The vehicle details and problem are as follows:

Mercedes Vito W639 122cdi, 2015 model with 102,000 miles
OM642 3.0 V6 diesel
One previous owner with full MB service history and owned by me for the past 4 years.

A bit of a saga, this one, but please bear with me!

The coolant temperature had previously always held a steady 90C (194F), regardless of ambient air temperature, engine load or vehicle speed.

A few months ago, I noticed that whilst towing my 1.7 tonne caravan (trailer), the digital coolant temperature display rose to 100c (212F), whilst ascending a long motorway incline.
As soon as we started on the descent, the temperature dropped to the normal 90C.

Ambient air temperature was in the region of 22C (72F).

I even had the heater on full blast to see if that would help matters, but it didn’t make any difference to the coolant hitting 100C under load.
I also switched on the Air Con so that the twin electric fans kicked in, but again it made no difference.

I pulled into the next service area and checked the coolant level, viscous fan operation, top hose temperature, expansion tank etc.
I also checked that the airflow to the radiator wasn’t blocked by anything like a plastic bag or similar.
Absolutely everything was in order and nothing obviously amiss, so carried on but kept an eagle eye on the coolant temperature display.

My initial thought was that it was a sticking thermostat and that it may not be fully opening (I had that problem years ago on a Ford).