How to fix rust problems

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

RobC270

Car
C270 Avantgarde
Morning All

Does anyone know of any god quality instruction uploads on You tube that guide a total noob through the process of doing body work repairs. I'm afraid my knowledge of cars is poor but I might need to do something in this regard shortly and I want to avoid wading through the inevitable rubbish on YT and get straight to the good stuff.

Any help would be appreciated
Many thanks
Rob

What kinds of repairs are you planning on doing? - Do you already own a MIG welder than you are experienced with, or are you drawing the line at fibreglass and body filler?

I found one of the Mighty Car Mods videos about dent repairs in their Daihatsu Charade quite helpful, but it may not be everyone's cup of tea.

Does anyone know of any god quality instruction uploads on You tube that guide a total noob through the process of doing body work repairs. I

These two don't sound good in one sentence!

It all depends on the age of the car, how good you want the finish etc.

For any rust repair, you need to remove the rust, treat, fill/replace and paint. If it is surface rust it can be ground back to good metal. If not, you need to cut the offending bits and weld in new metal.

If you want a good result, get someone to do it. Body repairs need to be perfect otherwise once the paint goes on, it will look really bad. Painting is a skill that requires lots of practice to get right.

I know it's not what you wanted to know but just some friendly advice.