• The Forums are now open to new registrations, adverts are also being de-tuned.

W205 C63 - is there a brake sensor warning light?

BJC

Car
C63 Saloon
Hi,

When I last got my 2019 W205 C63 serviced, they said the pads (I assume the rears from traction control and using adaptive cruise control) were near a warning marker.

I've now started to notice some brake squeal, and I'm wondering if that's the brake pads hitting a certain wear point and saying "please change me" in an audible fashion.

I've looked through the manual and some online videos and pictures, and older C classes or ones without the digital dashboard suggest I'd get a on screen warning or icon to saybthe pads need changing. I've not spotted anything like that on mine yet.

Is that assumption of mine correct?

Seeing the pads themselves is hard because of the alloys I have, plus I know my limits and I'm not a mechanic.

I know the car is due for its third service in ~60 days, but I want to make sure I don't ruin the discs if the pads are indeed low (i.e. if they need doing now, I'll get them done now).

Thanks in advance, Ben

I am in the same situation. Was advised my rears are 60% done, I enquired if there would be a dash warning light when they actually needed doing, to which I was told 'yes'. So i'm leaving mine until the car tells me they need doing.

Also, I don't think you can count the squeal as any indication of wear, my brakes have squealed since the day I got the car in 2020 (slow speed braking only - high speed and 'spirited' braking is usually silent) , i'm just used to it now. The noise i'd be more inclined to listen out for would be grinding or the like, like metal on metal (caliper on disc!).

+1 for the above mine also squeal under slow braking

If you look on Euro Car Parts or the like at the parts, they also sell wear indicators, which suggests that there would be a light. I'm in the same boat with my fronts ....