Advice following RTA please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

C60three

Car
V60
This morning on the way to work someone ran into the back of me at around 20-30 mph. There had been a RTA on the road ahead of me and I had stopped to avoid running into the stationary cars in front. The young girl that crashed into me alleges that her brakes (that had recently been fixed) had failed to work.

The poor girl's airbag went off in her face! Thankfully, nobody was seriously injured. We swapped details and went our separate ways.

I have been checked out by MIU at lunch time (having worked the morning). I have lower back & shoulder pain and neck discomfort, other than that I'm OK. They advised anti-inflammatories and rest (not ideal when you are self employed).

I work as a dentist and I am little concerned I may suffer some pain/discomfort at work for the next couple of weeks.... If there is no improvement on Monday I will seek advice from a physio'.

The rear bumper and boot of my car are damaged.

I have reported the incident to my insurance.

I have since been contacted by the legal team associated with my own insurance company and also by the girl's insurance company who are keen to repair my car without getting my own insurance company involved (presumably to reduce their costs?). The girl who ran into the back of me has admitted liability.

The team acting on behalf of the girl who crashed into me advised me not to go through my own insurance as the claim will 'count against me'.

Any advice on how to proceed would be much appreciated. I am keen to have my car repaired at a body shop of my choice and would ideally not have to drive around in a Citroen C1 whilst my car is being repaired!
Many thanks

By going direct to them you should get:

Like for like hire car
Faster turnaround
Injury compensation

You will still have to declare a non fault claim to your insurer but the other side will lower their costs.