In-between watch strap links O.o

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

MancMike

Gents, not sure what responses I can really expect apart from the obvious, put up with it, or get a new strap, but I know there's a lot of watch fans here, so I'm sure I'll learn something!

I've bought a watch strap for my Apple Watch 3, a metal links type. I've removed links to make it fit (I'm a software dev, not a bricklayer), but currently it's too loose. If I remove another link, it's then too tight.

I have noticed since wearing the watch it's gotten slightly looser (never previously worn watches), so it seems my wrist has slimmed a bit in response to the watch, like a ring on a finger.

Any suggestions or advice, or is it just new strap time?

Omega did half links for the Planet Ocean so I would imagine other manufacturers do too.

I tend to use it in summer and remove it in winter, or if visiting cold countries. Poor liver function can cause fluid retention and associated swelling that will affect fit too...

You're not the only one who is a little fussy about how a watch fits - they need to be comfortable otherwise you tend not to wear them.

Thanks for the suggestions. I never thought of either!

It’s not an expensive strap. The clasp doesn’t have any other positions.

It’s a shame as I really like the look of it. It makes the watch far nicer looking than with the rubber strap it came with.

Being too tight makes my veins bulge in my hand so obviously not an option. Being too loose is annoying as it moves around a bit and the haptic feedback “knocking” of the watch rattles the strap as it’s not under tension.

I’m going to be changing my diet as of tomorrow and maybe that’ll help. I don’t tend to gain weight though so I don’t have much body fat to lose.

Here’s a couple pics...