Is the E280 CDI underpowered?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Glyn E

Hi all, newbie here. I'm looking to buy an E class and I am wondering if the E280 CDI is underpowered. I am looking for the ability to cruise without working the engine and to be able to easliy overtake a vehicle who is doing 55mph on a country road with few passing places, as this seems to frequently happen to me. I am also more interested in luxury rather than sport so does the Avantgarde feel a bit too hard?
Thanks for any advice.

Hi all, newbie here. I'm looking to buy an E class and I am wondering if the E280 CDI is underpowered. I am looking for the ability to cruise without working the engine and to be able to easliy overtake a vehicle who is doing 55mph on a country road with few passing places, as this seems to frequently happen to me. I am also more interested in luxury rather than sport so does the Avantgarde feel a bit too hard?
Thanks for any advice.

It depends what you're coming from.

Why don't you go and drive one and make your mind up.

I have a E220cdi estate - it cruises fine and dispatches country road traffic with no problem. The punch betwee 50 and 70 seems to surprise everyone, which is one reason why I've never bothered to shell out any more for the larger engines.

Reactions: m80
I used to have an I6 320 CDI. My 280 is slightly slower, but still plenty quick enough.

I recently got the 211 280CDI estate; cruising at 80mph/2000rpm is very relaxed and quiet (you can hear the tyres more than the engine). I find acceleration from 50 more than adequate - I tend to push the shift stick left to drop a few gears before overtaking rather than use kickdown.