• The Forums are now open to new registrations, adverts are also being de-tuned.

M156 Cam Adjuster plates

C63Mike89

Car
C63 W204 AMG
I have ordered 4x cam adjuster plates for my C63 2014 w204 with new pins and springs from 63 motorsports and a camshaft locking tool specifically for a m156 engine.

To that end I am trying to find a noddy video that goes from setting up the timing tool to fitting the new adjusters but every video I find just presumes you’re a mechanic and skips bits which would probably be very important. Does anybody have a good go to video?

I’m not a mechanic but I did manage to replace my own clutch in my daily Ford focus last week which took me about 16 hours 😂.

On my c63 I have changed my own serpentine belt, pulleys spark plugs and I remove and replaced all my fuel injectors so I’m not going into this job totally unprepared.

To that end any help would be really appreciated I can’t find anything for a first time who’s never don’t engine work before or used shaft locking tools etc.

Any help appreciated.

Its a doddle, not difficult. We can help you through the process and give you tips and advice along the way 😁 Would recommend you take some time to watch these videos, a few times to familiar yourself with the components and what to expect.

You'll need a timing tool as rightly pointed out and some fresh gasket for the front timing and camshaft covers. Will need tort bit set, some T30 and shorty ones too for removing the screws that hold the top covers. 1/4", 3/4", 1/2" wrench, small and large torque wrench range 10NM, 20NM, 90NM. Will also need 4x diamond washers and new phaser bolts from MB.

The most important thing is the timing, it must be set at 40 degrees and locked with the timing tool. Once it's locked, you can then safely remove the camshaft adjusters.

I have added a link to timing tool tool from Toolhub, I have this it has the Aus and IN markings 👆