• The Forums are now open to new registrations, adverts are also being de-tuned.

My SL55 AMG

Talkwrench

Car
SL55
Hello all, I'm new to Mercedes and the forum and my first post.

I recently purchased a rather lovely SL55, I've always liked them and after I finally let my RX7 go I decided to scratch the itch, and wow am i glad I did. Its magnificent and I love it!

wS82qu7.jpg

To be honest I knew there was a few things that needed doing to it but I was completely sold on that paint colour :D I believe its quite rare and when the sun hits it really pops! According to the VIN its designo chromaflair 031U can anyone shed any light on the rarity of it? The previous owner suggested there are 3 in the UK but i took that as pre-sales BS to be honest.

VNapPS9.jpg

It does need a good detailing to correct the finish but its low on the list of things to do and will probably be done in the spring now. I've already given it damn good clean under the bonnet and interior and I've had all the wheel arch liners out to check for corrosion and any hidden history! Thankfully it was a tidy and just needed cleaning / degreasing and I've sprayed a decent covering of Bilt Hamber clear chassis wax in the areas that probably need it most, I've been checking all the usual suspect areas for leaks and so far so good and I've cleaned all the seals and regreased them with silicone grease. Car has a full service history and some recent big repair bills including a new SBC pump and gearbox module from MB with new batteries and bits and pieces.

I've ordered a massive list of parts to hopefully get the old girl feeling a bit tighter, there are some knocks from the lower links, brakes are well past it, engine mounts feel like they've given up and it needs some bigger, better wheels & tyres then lowering. I like to work on my own cars so I will slowly update this thread as my journey with this car unfolds.