• The Forums are now open to new registrations, adverts are also being de-tuned.

Has anyone owned/own a VW T25 Camper?! - Advice required!

300CE

MB Enthusiast
Car
1990 300CE
I'm possibly interested in the attached and wondered if anyone has advice on what to look out for in addition to the usual rusting issues underneath (the chap selling it has assured me it's sound).

Any advice would be much appreciated!!

eBay - The UK's Online Marketplace

I'm no expert but it looks absolutely spotless and if the guy has done all he says he has, l don't see what you have to worry about. These things are like old Mercs where they just go on and on......

My mate has just sold one of these for £3.5k,not a patch on the one you are looking at, many parts available for them,easy to maintain,lovely vehicles, go for it, well under priced, good investment.

Well we love ours, a really nice old thing.

Personally I would say the waterboxers are better, more MPG and warmer heaters in cold weather.

And those pop-up tops get a bit annoying in windy weather, ours is a fixed one, and the only real downside of it is the jokes about having a boat on the roof.

An awning is a great addition, not an expensive buy.

Front seats that rotate to face the rear are also good, they make the internal space feel much bigger.

As with all things though, you really do need to see it before buying, have a proper look over round and under for the dreaded rust - they go in all sorts of places. Beware the filler too, take a magnet and have a proper look along the sides to try and gauge exactly how much pudding it has - if the sills are freshly painted and not magnetic, run away.

I had one of these but it was a Westfalia with a 1600 in it. Bought it with damaged valve gear, apart from that it could have been in a Museum. Had the engine replaced with a 2 litre, which would run out of fuel and over heat when pushed hard, more to do with the transplant not being done quite properly I'd have thought.