Newbie - Considering E class - opinions wanted

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

TurboBen

Car
E53 Coupe
Hi all, newbie here.

I'm in the market for a new car and had a few questions I hope you can help with.

Bit of a back story so you know where I'm coming from. I'm in an old Astra at the moment after selling my RS3 saloon last year. Basicly took voluntary redundancy in October last year when my company was looking at reducing staff due to Covid and needed the money as I wanted to retire (I'm 42). Had another change in circumstances since then and will soon be in a position to look at a new car again.

I've been looking at a few cars, all German. One is the new e53 coupe, but I'm having trouble with the configurator getting the spec I want. A sunroof is a must for me, but when I add it to the configuration it adds a load of other stuff I don't want. Not wanting to offend anyone that has it, but the carbon fibre trim is a deal breaker for me. When I add the black ash trim, it removes the sunroof. Am I missing something? Also, many of the reviews I have seen online have had cooled seats with an air scarf, but I can't see the options for this. Are we not allowed this in the UK?

Lastly, I took out an M340i for a test drive this week, but was really disappointed with the sound, or lack of. After a little digging it appears the EU have introduced new regulations on noise emmisions. Has this affected the new E53 or does it still sound good?

Thanks in advance for any advice / opinions.

Welcome aboard ,I head this before about specing a new Mercedes,but have no first hand knowledge as I have not bought a new car for about 20 years.

I think hat MB moved to a 'package' method of options, rather than individual options; supposedly something to do with having to homolgate all the various permutations under the new emissions tests. Presumably it applies to all models but I don't have personal experience, mine were all under the old system.