A car for my son

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Clkrichard

Car
2011 CLC 220cdi 2004 CLK 320 cabriolet, R230 SL500, A class Sport AMG now arrived.
A friend has just offered me his wifes 2006 Clio 1.2 for £1250 and needless to say I bit his arm off ! One owner, full Renault service history, £400 last week including MOT. 40k miles. Its absolutely basic but at that price who cares ?
I dont know anything about Clios - any pointers ? Do they all have aircon ? When will it need a cambelt ?
I will now explore insurance and no I will not be " fronting " !
I will possibly just go TPFT as not much damage would write it off anyway. It depends really on the cost difference with fully comp and excesses. If its too costly I will look at insuring in my name until he passes his test but I know he wont earn NCD that way. The car should retail around £2500 so I will insure for that.
Any learned views from the forum ?

I had a 1.2 Renault 5 as a student, I assume a precurser to the Clio.

AC? Your having a laugh! Very much doubt it. Again, going on memory, the engine was Chain driven.

I think the wisdom is good cars often let down by the electrics. A base model is a win here....

If you insure with Direct Line your son would earn NCD as a named driver on your policy, but only DL would recognise it as such. We did this with our two sons and combined with their multi car discount it made a huge difference when they came to buy insurance in their own names.
From memory they paid around £600 fully comp when internet searches were typically coming up with £1500-£2000.

All bar the basic spec ones should have AC. There will be virtually no difference in price between comprehensive and TPFT. Its the damage they do to others that cause the payouts not the damage to their own vehicle. The Clio does not have the greatest reputation for reliability but well maintained with a full history it should be fine with a bit of luck.