Blink Codes Wanted 1992 R129.66

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

classiccarnut

Car
Mercedes
I am in the process of building a blink code reader using the instructions found elsewhere on this forum and other internet pages.

I have the analogue 16 pin socket on the car (block of 4 next to block of 12 type).

Does anyone have a list of the fault codes/blinks as I can't find them anywhere on the net. Without them my little electronics project will be useless.

I did find THIS on eBay, but I don't for one minute think it's worth the asking price or the myther of waiting for it to come from the USA.

Thanks in advance

Steve

This is the EZL unit with no memory - i.e. faults only able to be read while engine running (engine 119.960)?

Last edited:
OK, I'm new to this as I've only had the car for a week. I've found quite a lot of information on the web about MB fault reading but then I read something else that contradicts the previous article. I take it that this is due to MB changing the spec' of the R129 a few times during its' life cycle. Therefore I'm finding it difficult to establish exactly what the cars computer does when it picks up a fault.

I take it then, that my version of the R129 does not retain any fault codes ?

If this is the case then I assume that once I've fixed the problem that causes my ABS/ASR lights to come on, they will stay off without anything being reset ?

If I run the engine with my code reader in place, with a list of codes should I be able to pinpoint the problem with my ABS/ASR ?

All help will be gratefully received !

Thanks

Steve

I'm away from the ref docs but I think I'm right in saying that (assuming you have a 119.960 engine) then you have 3 diagnostic points - KE, EZL and MAS.

EZL/AKR (the electronic ignition) gives pulse codes while running (i.e. doesn't store them) so you have to run through a set of tests with the reader attached and note the codes (if any).