• The Forums are now open to new registrations, adverts are also being de-tuned.

CLS500 2006 Unable to set clock

simonwheeler

Car
CLS500
Hi all. I'm a newbie here, so please go gentle on me!

I have just collected a 2006 CLS500 with the 5.5 V8 engine. She's only done 68,000 miles and runs like a dream.

Couple of little oddities.

1. I am unable to change the clock. The previous owner has replaced the factory entertainment unit with an android / apple play device. He says the only way to change the clock is to disconnect the battery and wait until it's midday! Surely this cannot be correct. Does anyone know a way to get around this without resorting to expensive Mercedes main dealer diagnostics?

2. My mirrors don't seem to adjust when I select reverse. Is this an optional extra and if so, how do I find out what options were actually included in my vehicle?

3. Headlamp washers seem to be fitted to the bumper, but there is no button to operate them inside the cockpit. Is this just a cosmetic feature or should they be operational?

4. The stick-on bonnet badge, is it possible to replace with the old-style raised tri-star?

5. Mine has no cupholder. Do you know if the 'after-market' ones I see on ebay are likely to fit? Or are they just cheap Chinese crap?

6. I don't seem to be able to set the speed from km/h on my computer. I have the main display showing MPH but beneath that is a smaller display showing speed in km/h which I don't seem to be able to change.

All in all, the car handles and drives like a dream. I suspect that in replacing the audio unit, some of the connectivity has been lost, hence the issues identified above. If anyone can shed any light, I'd be really grateful.

Thanks in advance,

Simon

Suggest you find yourself an experienced MB independent with STAR...
1. The cluster needs to be recoded to tell the car the COMAND has been removed and then there should be an option in the cluster menu to adjust the clock.