3D Printer for home

• Thread starter Deleted member 65149
  • Start date
Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
D

Deleted member 65149

Any experience here of 3D printers? I’m thinking about buying one as a Christmas present for my son (an IT professional) and his family. They’re all very practical: my daughter-in-law has a pottery business and the kids (10 and 11) are always building things and very much into coding.

I have zero knowledge of 3D printers but on a whim thought that one could be a good family present. Any advice, from whether or not it sounds like a good idea to what model to look for, would be useful. Thanks.

Any experience here of 3D printers?
No experience of home equipment, but have used them commercially. One thing to remember (unless you are only going to print things that someone else has designed) is that you will also need software for the design process.

There's a useful guide / review piece here:

budget?

I don’t know what sort of price I should pay for something reasonable, but I’m guessing at around £300 - £600

I keep toying with the idea of a 3D printer, as I can see many practical uses for it. However, I haven't the foggiest idea how you go about designing things to print, although I know you can download files, and suspect it would end up being another of my flash-in-the-pan purchases.🙄

I’ll be following this thread with interest because - as mentioned earlier - it seems to be the programming of the printing that’s a bit tricky to master when I’ve looked at 3D printers.

My brother is a product designer and has been using 3D printers for a number of years. They normally use them for scaled mock-ups of the intended designs.
They email the designs to a company in Holland that has some very hi-tech pieces of kit and then the company ships the finished products to the U.K.