Servicing my W203 180k 2005 C Class Mercedes

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

jpod

Car
Merc C180k 2005
I serviced my W203 service a petrol C180k 2005

I am a rookie – please use all my advice with that in mind!
Please post any corrections

Spark plugs
4x Bosch FR6MPP332
Lift off the engine cover, some folk advocate a warm engine to prevent the hard plastic engine cover breaking.

22681839891_48c133d8ea_m.jpg

22049512113_4de5c02271_m.jpg

Use a TORX E8 socket to remove the 2 bolts holding the first front coil pack in and pull it out

22670748885_455e186bb2.jpg

22681915721_ea26de34d8.jpg

16mm ½-inch square drive spark plug socket to remove a plug, black insulation tape was used to stop the socket coming off the extension in the plug hole!

22049581863_d2e5485cc5.jpg

Inspect your plug! Light tan to greyish-brown deposits are good and means your Merc engine is in good condition. Get a new plug out and admire it.

22049520763_6ab6112d2a.jpg

Hand tighten the plug in to start with until you are confident there is no cross threading use your torque wrench - they are quite tight!

22049533473_efc60f935d.jpg

Then reverse the process, pop each coil pack on, don’t over tighten the two bolts. Move on to the next. Some of the coil packs and the item top left were unplugged and lifted out the way

22670670295_411c054c87.jpg

Once all four are done – final check, make sure all the hoses/cables are back in place and push your engine cover back on.
Spark plugs torque settings
Up to 20/4/04 twenty five 25 Nm Eighteen 18 lbf ft
From 21/04/04 twenty eight 28 Nm Twenty one 21 lbf ft 3 Kg/m on my torque wrench

Air filter
Very easy – situated under the black plastic cover to the right of the centre of the engine. Lift out, make sure the air box is clean but don’t spray anything in there.

Pollen filter
Very easy – situated on the near side over the battery
Air filter

22670762315_350d25bfd1.jpg

Oil filter