Map updates

Delderek

Active Member
SUPPORTER
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
222
Location
Kent
Car
C class w205
Audio 20 SD card will only allow map updates for 60 days. Software updates will continue for three years. Live traffic is a whole new subject.
 

Crewie

Active Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2019
Messages
256
Location
Kent
Car
Mercedes E class 220 cdi convertible AMG sports pack
Do not Format the card. It is locked to the vehicle. You can not update a clean formatted card. The MB download manager will only update your own card. I can only assume in your case that updating a card that is five years out of date, is possibly a step too far, and yes it should look like your picture on the right. And it sounds as if you are doing everything correctly
That’s right I’m referring to a NEW sd card ok
 

PaulG85

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
6
Location
UK
Car
Mercedes C Class (W205) 2015
Thanks alleshateinende As far as I could tell it had never been updated from new.

Do we all think I should just get a new card? If so, is there a specific one I need to get? Any recommendations where the best place would be?
 

Crewie

Active Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2019
Messages
256
Location
Kent
Car
Mercedes E class 220 cdi convertible AMG sports pack
If your getting a new SD CARD. Scan disk class 10 is the best
 

alleshateinende

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
6
Location
Hannover
Car
W211
Any Samsung SD card is good.
32GB Samsung SDHC EVO Memory Card - Samsung UK

But in your case I would recommend you to buy a cloned already prepared card. In the next week's the new version 13 will appear on all marketplaces. For €45-50 you will have a full functional Card.

If you buy a Virgen SD... And and and. Finally you get crazy... It's my opinion.
 

PaulG85

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
6
Location
UK
Car
Mercedes C Class (W205) 2015
Thanks everyone. I don't usually use forums but glad I did. My main concern has been that if I buy a new prepared card for £45/50 will it work in my car seeing as I have tried the proper route to update everything. Guess it's a risk. Sounds like a lot of people on here done it without issue which makes me feel a bit more confident about trying it.
 

alleshateinende

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
6
Location
Hannover
Car
W211
Of course you can try it and try it again.
Did you delete the cookies for example? Did you installed the MB-DLM again? Did you used another browser as usual? Did you follow all instructions and have introduced a valid VIN and so on?!
 

PaulG85

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
6
Location
UK
Car
Mercedes C Class (W205) 2015
Of course you can try it and try it again.
Did you delete the cookies for example? Did you installed the MB-DLM again? Did you used another browser as usual? Did you follow all instructions and have introduced a valid VIN and so on?!
I will definitely try all of those things before I get my wallet out
 

GeorgeR

Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
35
Location
Berkshire, UK
Car
s212 Hybrid (E300 T Hybrid)
This is correct, but it only applies to cars that have the TomTom Live Traffic feature (fitted to MB cars from mid-2013 onwards).

If the car has only the basic TMC traffic service, then this is a free service (in the UK) and it never expires, and in this case there will be no 'Subscription information' option in the COMAND menu.

I think it is slightly more complex than that.
You have TMC in the UK but you cannot use it with a car having an MB NTG 4.5, 4.7 unit.

Here is my experience:
Some older and less smart devices, like my old Volvo (MY 2008) could get UK TMC without any problem (no internet based traffic info could be used there). However, this does not work with the recent day MB navis (Command 4.5, 4.7, like mine). Even though the NTG 4.5, 4.7 have the TMC capability builtin and it works in some countries (BE, NL, DE, AT, ... for me) but in the UK it wants to use the Tom Tom dynamic service and refuses to use any TMC. This service is dynamic traffic info coming from 10-20k fixed sensors (as private service) combined with Voda service (cell position change I guess) as a (B2B) service. I think it uses not the TMC technically but the data connection of the unit. (Via the built-in sim card for MY 2015+ tethering for MY 2013-14)
The price of such service is included into the first 3 yr of subscription (comes with the car and the Tom Tom sw), then it stops. You need to pay quite a significant amount (100+) for a year to make it work again. (It is double or the triple of the price you would pay for the same service + online maps into your phone...) Again it has nothing to do to the map updates and the device's firmware.

So due to tricky MB marketing, you can have premium service at a premium price and you cannot have the free service. At least not in the UK.
 

markjay

MB Master
SUPPORTER
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
26,985
Location
London
Car
W204 C180 Executive SE 2013 Automatic / COMAND NTG4.7 and Morel speakers fitted by www.comand.co.uk
I think it is slightly more complex than that.
You have TMC in the UK but you cannot use it with a car having an MB NTG 4.5, 4.7 unit.

Here is my experience:
Some older and less smart devices, like my old Volvo (MY 2008) could get UK TMC without any problem (no internet based traffic info could be used there). However, this does not work with the recent day MB navis (Command 4.5, 4.7, like mine). Even though the NTG 4.5, 4.7 have the TMC capability builtin and it works in some countries (BE, NL, DE, AT, ... for me) but in the UK it wants to use the Tom Tom dynamic service and refuses to use any TMC. This service is dynamic traffic info coming from 10-20k fixed sensors (as private service) combined with Voda service (cell position change I guess) as a (B2B) service. I think it uses not the TMC technically but the data connection of the unit. (Via the built-in sim card for MY 2015+ tethering for MY 2013-14)
The price of such service is included into the first 3 yr of subscription (comes with the car and the Tom Tom sw), then it stops. You need to pay quite a significant amount (100+) for a year to make it work again. (It is double or the triple of the price you would pay for the same service + online maps into your phone...) Again it has nothing to do to the map updates and the device's firmware.

So due to tricky MB marketing, you can have premium service at a premium price and you cannot have the free service. At least not in the UK.
To be precise....:

1. All cars fitted with COMAND NTG4.5/4.7 came with free UK TMC from the factory.

2. If the car was fitted with the KOM Module (fitted to car equipped with COMAND Online systems from mid-2013 onwards), then it could support the TomTom Live Traffic Service.

3. But, once the TomTom Live Traffic Service has been activated for the car, TMC stopped working.

4. Once the free TMC has been deactivated by the TomTom Live Traffic, it is not coming back, not even when the TomTom service is unavailable, or if it expired.

5. So, in order to have free UK TMC working on NTG4.5/4.7, you need to either have a car that was made before mid-June 2013 (and does not have the KOM Module), or a later car where the TomTom Live Traffic Data Service has never been activated from new.

6. The TomTom Live Traffic Service is only available for cars fitted with the KOM Module (with the built-in Vodafone simcard). It is not available for COMAND Online systems connected to the Internet via Bluetooth Tethering.

7. For pre-mid-2013 cars without the KOM Module.... the only Mercedes Me service available is the Mercedes Me Adapter Service. No other Mercedes Me Service is available, and that includes the TomTom Live Traffic Service.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Ted

GeorgeR

Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
35
Location
Berkshire, UK
Car
s212 Hybrid (E300 T Hybrid)
You are right.
One more tiny point: it is not the KOM module but the network connection what makes the difference. In the models of 6/13 - to 2015 there was no KOM but internet tethering. You needed a phone connected to get the live traffic.
Interesting though WHY it does work in DE, BE, NL, AT, .... after the TomTom LiveTraffic expired ? Could it be the Brexit perhaps? :)
 

richard

Authorised Forum Sponsor
SUPPORTER
Joined
Jun 10, 2002
Messages
6,279
Location
Berkshire, UK
Car
MY04 SL55, MY18 GLC63s
My used GLC with Comand NTG5*2 turned up without a valid live traffic subscription. (Last week)

Rather surprisingly TMC was working !! The new reg document arrived today so I went to the dealer and had it tied to my Mercedes Me account and had live traffic turned on, and 100 yards down the road the Comand knew there was a valid subscription and it switched to that

A few years ago the UK maps for NTG5*2 did not have TMC info / licence on them. This was a pain as we retrofitted Comand to a W205 and ended up without any traffic info - We ended up retrofitting the comms module with live traffic (car has basic comms module already) with some assistance from MB Germany.

R
 

GeorgeR

Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
35
Location
Berkshire, UK
Car
s212 Hybrid (E300 T Hybrid)
Did some research before having my updating NAV map updated.
The version names of the 2019 map for Europe today:
NTG 6 -> 20.11.2018 = v8.0
NTG 5.5 -> 19.12.2018 = v14.0
NTG 5*2 -> 09.11.2018 = v.13.0
NTG 5*1 -> 31.08.2018 = v.11.0
NTG 4.5 (4.7) -> 14.12.2018 = v18.0

The updates of these maps came irregularly. Sometimes in 6 months time, sometimes only after 18 months. As we have not had anything in the CY 2019 so I am hoping we get some updates by November - December.
 

GeorgeR

Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
35
Location
Berkshire, UK
Car
s212 Hybrid (E300 T Hybrid)
Ok everyone, I'm not sure this is the End, or the beginning of the end!! Having complained to the Head Office of the dealership, I have just had the latest Garmin map installed. It would seem that on each occasion I visited the 2 outlets of the dealership, the technicians were all under the impression that "updating" the SD card would provide the latest map updates. This is not correct, the only updates are to the firmware as confirmed earlier in this thread. The technicians have only been made aware very recently. The only way to get map updates is to buy a new SD card - I'm told they are £99 which was waived for me because of the hassle I'd experienced. The SD was installed for me & I have the empty case - A2139064307 (Version 12.0 (Map 12.0) Europe. They also pointed out that new maps come out quite regularly but I'm not bothered since I've now moved from the V8 2017!! I have also had confirmation that the operation of the Live Traffic is seperate as a subscription & is not tied to the SD card. I have searched on the internet for A2139064307 which takes you to the MB accessories site but strangely there is no way to purchase the map & it doesn't state any price!! I'm sure I've seen someone on this forum showing a list of available firmware/map versions - can anyone point me to this? Finally, I'm wondering whether using the Download Manager will firstly indicate & update the firmware, but will also tell you if there's a new map version? I presume then you would need to contact the dealer. Incidentally, my new map took nearly 12 days to arrive so I dont know where they get it from!!

You should be able to download the new map versions on your own, at home.
Check the latest versions in my post above.
 

Delboy0127

Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
44
Location
Worcestershire
Car
MERCEDES S213 E CLASS E220 D PREMIUM AMG LINE ESTATE 2017
No probs anymore give me a buzz
MY MAP VERSION EUROPE 2017 ( V5.4 )
Totally lost trying to update Maps have paid for a further 3 years. I am correct Purchased new S213 2017 amg line premium wide command screen command system . The only SD card slot is in the centre console correct?m I had to purchase my own SD card
I have 60 gb sd card with m=usic on, using that slot and nothing else. I have a iPod that I could use for music plugged into USB. Should I format SD card clean How do I then gets maps onto the SD card to install I use a iMac computer I have a mercedes me acc any assistance would help
 

markjay

MB Master
SUPPORTER
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
26,985
Location
London
Car
W204 C180 Executive SE 2013 Automatic / COMAND NTG4.7 and Morel speakers fitted by www.comand.co.uk
MY MAP VERSION EUROPE 2017 ( V5.4 )
Totally lost trying to update Maps have paid for a further 3 years. I am correct Purchased new S213 2017 amg line premium wide command screen command system . The only SD card slot is in the centre console correct?m I had to purchase my own SD card
I have 60 gb sd card with m=usic on, using that slot and nothing else. I have a iPod that I could use for music plugged into USB. Should I format SD card clean How do I then gets maps onto the SD card to install I use a iMac computer I have a mercedes me acc any assistance would help
There are two types of infotainment systems: the basic Audio20 with the optional Garmin Map Pilot navigation on SD-Card, or the higher-end COMAND with the built-in navigation on internal HDD.

This thread is about the Audio20 with the optional Garmin Map Pilot navigation on SD-Card. Updating the maps on this unit is done simply by purchasing a new Garmin Map Pilot SD-Card that will have both the latest navigation software and the maps on it.

If your car is equipped with COMAND, however, then the situation is different. The navigation software is built-in to the unit, and can be updated by uploading the latest firmware using STAR Diagnostic computer, in other world this is a job for the dealer (or a Mercedes Benz specialist with STAR). The maps update is a seprate operation, they are updated from the USB port using flash drive, and they are a free download from the Mercedes Benz website, though you will need to purchase a PIN code that is unique to your car's VIN. The PIN code can be purchased from www.comandonline.co.uk or from any MB dealer. BTW, www.comandonline.co.uk can also carry-out the firmware update for you.

That said, if your car came with factory fitted COMAND unit (i.e. and not Audio20 with the optional Garmin Map Pilot navigation on SD-Card), then it is entitled to 3 years free maps update. So if your car was first registered on or after 1st July 2017, then I suggest that you contact your MB dealer asap and ask for a free maps update to the current latest version. But hurry, because once the 3 years have lapsed, the dealer will no longer be able to get the maps update done for free.
 

Crewie

Active Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2019
Messages
256
Location
Kent
Car
Mercedes E class 220 cdi convertible AMG sports pack
Hi I called holland (head office) I think well that’s where the line goes to. And asked is there any way I can put speed cameras alerts on the system. He said a few years ago yes. But now you can’t so I’ll use Waze for now thanks guys 👍👍
 

jtr

Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
31
I tried to renew the traffic service on my early 2016 212 (run out) Command system with Mercedes Me. Last year it was all fairly straight forward and I paid via PayPal. This year, the only way to pay is by credit card and you must agree to them storing your credit card details on their system That’s a big No from me so they have lost the business and I’ll use my phone instead. It all comes over as gouging the customer - not a good impression
 

markjay

MB Master
SUPPORTER
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
26,985
Location
London
Car
W204 C180 Executive SE 2013 Automatic / COMAND NTG4.7 and Morel speakers fitted by www.comand.co.uk
Hi I called holland (head office) I think well that’s where the line goes to. And asked is there any way I can put speed cameras alerts on the system. He said a few years ago yes. But now you can’t so I’ll use Waze for now thanks guys 👍👍
Most car satnav systems can have speed cameras loaded as personal POIs, though this solution is not as good as having a proper speed camera add-on, i.e. in the same way as Waze does.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom