• The Forums are now open to new registrations, adverts are also being de-tuned.

Newbie (E320 question)

Antharro

Car
'95 Mitsubishi FTO GPX, '93 Mitsubishi GTO, '78 350SL, '09 B180CDi
Hi all,

New member here. I've been considering buying myself a Mercedes for some time now and only just found this place. :)

My background is mostly in Jap cars - in the family we've either had or still have an '82 Jaguar XJ6 4.2, '85 Accord, '87 Ballade, '87 (Mk2) CRX, two '87 Cavalier Estates, '92 Mitsi Pajero LWB, '92 Accord Aerodeck, '95 Civic and my daily driver is a '95 Mitsubishi FTO GPX, which I love. My father had a few Mercedes in the 80ies, I don't remember the exact models, but I believe he had an early 80ies 280SE which he kept until he mid 90ies when the rust got to it. He currently has a 1978 350SL convertable which is absolutely lovely to drive. (We also have an '87 Polo as a run-about).

Due to a change in circumstances, I'm unfortunately looking at selling my cars (the CRX, FTO and Accord Aerodeck), and buying something sensible. I'd love to get a Merc, but I'm not having much luck finding what I'm after.

I want:
- Something practical. The Accord is my work car and is often used to haul a trailer or heavy stuff.
- Something quick. The FTO is the V6 MIVEC and puts out a little under 200bhp. In a small(ish) body, it's darn quick and has superb handling. Brutal acceleration, I had enormous fun on a track day organized by the owners club! The CRX, while it doesn't handle like the FTO and isn't as fast is awesome fun and feels like a go-kart. No power assisted anything!
- Something economical. Accord=28-30mpg, FTO=28-30mpg, CRX=35-40mpg.
- Good sound system. I like my music loud on long journeys! (Mostly to drown out my singing. :D)
- Budget: £2750.
- Full (or near as damnit) service history.
- All three of my cars have a sunroof, I'd like to keep this feature.