NTL Help !!! - quickish question

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

WLeg

MB Enthusiast
Car
MB GLC250
OK... I work in IT... but try to stay away from home stuff....

However...I've been asked by a friend to sort out some wireless networking, for their NTL connection.

They currently have one Mac connected to the NTL box via ethernet. They want the Mac + 2 Intel laptops to be connected.

I seem to recall that NTL are a pain in the whotsit about this, and require the wireless box to clone the host PC's MAC address ?

Are there any proud NTL users out there who can clarify or deny this ??

Also, other than Linksys, what are my options on Access points that can clone, if necessary ?

WLeg said:
proud NTL users

Is that possible???

Worse company I have ever had the misfortune to deal with :mad:

Do you know if they are using the Set Top Box (STB) to connect or if they got a seperate modem.

if a seperate modem you can buy a wireless router, like a linksys (which is what i had) and using a single machine set up the access. I seem to recall that the modem itself has its own Mac address, which is used to create the connection then the wireless router shares it.

STB is another thing which I luckily didn't have to get into.

Shouldn't be too difficult but you might need to remember passwords etc.

sparkyspost said:
Do you know if they are using the Set Top Box (STB) to connect or if they got a seperate modem.

if a seperate modem you can buy a wireless router, like a linksys (which is what i had) and using a single machine set up the access. I seem to recall that the modem itself has its own Mac address, which is used to create the connection then the wireless router shares it.

STB is another thing which I luckily didn't have to get into.

Shouldn't be too difficult but you might need to remember passwords etc.