ViseeO questions.

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by BIGjoe, Oct 15, 2008.

  1. BIGjoe

    BIGjoe Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Just bought a s/h Viseeo mbu-1000 to go in the MB Actros truck which has an MB fitted hands free phone to take a Nokia 6310. I don't know if its an incompatibility problem, or whether I've bought a dud, but the system does not recognise anything inserted into the cradle when the viseeo is present. No power seems to be present in the viseeo either.
    I've connected it to the computer via the mini usb cable, but still no recognition of its presence there.
    The truck system is working fine with the bona fida Nokia 6310 phone.
    I don't know anyone with a MB kit fitted to a car to try it in, so is there anything I can do to test if it is a dud before I throw it back at the vendor.

    Yours.
    :confused:
     
  2. maddog

    maddog Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    725
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    whereabouts in the country are you??
     
  3. itjustworks

    itjustworks Member

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Hi,

    It may well just be a faulty unit if you phone is working but the ViseeO isn't. We had this issue quite a while back now with one customers unit but after we exchanged it he had no problems :)

    As it is electical equipment you do sometimes get the odd faulty one. We have found ViseeO to be very good with less than 0.5% being faulty.

    I would let your supplier know by e-mail or phone and I am sure they will exchange the unit for you.
     
  4. A-AvantGarde

    A-AvantGarde Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,639
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Location:
    South Bucks
    Car:
    2016 BMW F86 X6 M, 2016 BMW F30 320d, 2001 Mercedes C320 Elegance
    Where about are you in the UK? May be able to help you test it in a car with a Merc kit depending on where you are...
     
  5. Alfie

    Alfie Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    7,542
    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Location:
    Surrey/Cotswolds
    Car:
    W169 A, W205 C, W451 smart
    Can I ask where you purchased it from?
     
  6. kop-al-74

    kop-al-74 Member

    Messages:
    56
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Car:
    06 C230 2.5 v6 7G-Tronic
    A bit off the original topic but my Nokia 91 doesnt download the contacts list automaticaly.Having read a few reports on the Viseeo,the genaral word is you have to connect and sync the contacts individually which can be a long process when you have over 200 contacts.

    Anyway,the way around this is to go to your conacts list,click options,mark/unmark,mark all,options and then send to viseeo.It tranfers the whole lot in less than a minute.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    BIGjoe

    BIGjoe Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Middlewich, Cheshire.
     
  8. A-AvantGarde

    A-AvantGarde Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,639
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Location:
    South Bucks
    Car:
    2016 BMW F86 X6 M, 2016 BMW F30 320d, 2001 Mercedes C320 Elegance
    Might be able to help you try and test it in a car with a Merc fitted 6310 kit as I get up to Liverpool a lot. Depends how desperate you are to test it...
     
  9. OP
    OP
    BIGjoe

    BIGjoe Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    On fleabay, yes I know:eek: , its supposed to be two months old, I can get the serial no for you if its of interest.
    I'm baffled by the fact the computer won't register its presence when connected by USB, which leads me to believe its faulty:(
     
  10. OP
    OP
    BIGjoe

    BIGjoe Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Hi, thanks for the offer, I may take it up yet as I'm up and down the country too, :)
     
  11. itjustworks

    itjustworks Member

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    If you have an old Nokia charger (the fat pin one) - try connecting it to the ViseeO to see if the ViseeO powers on. Do not connect it to the PC at the same time.

    If the viseeO doesn't power on when attached to mains power then it is dead as far as I know
     
  12. glojo

    glojo MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    14,144
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Torquay
    Car:
    S211 Sprinter 213CDI, & the new T-class
    Hi BigJoe,
    Sorry to go off topic but I noticed you mention you drive an Actros! That must be the most powerful Mercedes on this forum??

    Is there any chance you could possibly post some pictures in the members gallery PLEASE?

    Warning
    If you do I will have shed loads of questions :eek: :eek: :eek:

    Good luck getting this issue resolved.

    Yours sincerely
    John
     
  13. OP
    OP
    BIGjoe

    BIGjoe Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Thanks for that, just tried it and it powered up:bannana: , must be the truck telephone system thats incompatible. Typical mercedes, it must cost them a fortune to develope seperate components for different models :confused:

    Anyone want to buy a s/h ViseeO mbu - 1000 :D
     
  14. OP
    OP
    BIGjoe

    BIGjoe Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Will do John. I've only just bought this one, so not taken any piccys yet.
    I bought it s/h, Its a 2554, 16 litres 540 bhp V8 twin turbo intercooled:D with 2500nm of torgue, fully auto, and I love it :cool:............ apart from the phone:( .
    Joe.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    BIGjoe

    BIGjoe Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Sorted :D
     
  16. A-AvantGarde

    A-AvantGarde Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,639
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Location:
    South Bucks
    Car:
    2016 BMW F86 X6 M, 2016 BMW F30 320d, 2001 Mercedes C320 Elegance
    I could be interested ;-), although I'd like to test it - could solve both problems really
     
  17. ajb

    ajb New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Joe - I'll buy it off you!

    mail at andrewbartley dot com
     
  18. itjustworks

    itjustworks Member

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Although this shows the unit works remember that this is pugged into a wall socket - so not really replicating a car cradle. I would still say to try in car to make sure it is not the unit.
     
  19. OP
    OP
    BIGjoe

    BIGjoe Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Right, I've decided to sell it. I paid £225 for it on ebay so if I can get the same for it, its yours, subject to it working of course.
    They retail at £299, and was originally bought by the original owner new in August 2008 and comes with the instruction manual.
    As I'm up and down the country most weeks I could meet somewhere (with plenty of room for a truck please;) )to test and exchange the unit.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.