• The Forums are now open to new registrations, adverts are also being de-tuned.

CL600 won't start - OK up to starter relay I think.

Bigdogspike

Car
CL600
Hello there, I have just joined the MB club partly because I have just bought my first Merc (2001 CL600) and partly because it won’t start!
I noticed a post by Dash1, he seemed to have a vast amount of knowledge in the area where I believe my problem is and I was hoping he might be able to give me some info, not sure how I can contact him as I’m new to all this so thought I’d post my problem and see what happens! (sorry it’s a bit long but added all info I could)
During my first week of ownership I found the car would intermittently not start. The key turns, I get all the ignition lights but nothing happens when I turn the final bit to engage the starter motor. I keep trying it, wait a while, lock and unlock car etc and after while it starts.
Happens with the Keyless Go and both keys. Happens in Park and Neutral.
The other issue I noticed was a loud “buzzing” noise when I turned ignition on, I wondered if this could be connected so investigated, it was coming from the Fuse/Relay box on left as you face the car. I removed the modules and fuse/relay trays and found a cooling fan underneath which was making the offending noise. I have ordered another one, I put it all back together and, you’ve probably guessed, now it won’t start at all! I believe I have found the starter relay (Green) and I can hear it operate when I try to start. I have 12v on pin 30(I think) and this is switched through to pin 87 (I think) when it operates. I can’t find any diagrams, so don’t know where it goes from there?? Any help , ideas would be much appreciated.
Lastly – It is an absolutely great car, don’t regret buying it for a minute, even this problem hasn’t dampened my spirits, I still love it. But would be nice to turn it back into a toy instead of an ornament!