Recording from Sky Box

flango

Hardcore MB Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 10, 2008
Messages
10,983
Location
Gods own country
Car
Mercedes SLK R171
I currently have a Sky+ box and a DVD player/recorder, when I want to burn a movie on the sky planner to DVD I just set record on the DVD recorder and transfer from the Sky box by pressing play.

Lately my DVD player/recorder is playing up so either I have to replace it or do i? On the same set up as this I have a small form PC running an Intel P4 2800 processor, 1 Gb RAM. So could I connect the Sky box to the PC maybe via the S video output to USB input and record direct to the PC? I could then burn to DVD from the PC in a fraction of the time and also keep the films on the PC's 500Gb disc. I guess I could also play the DVD's from the PC DVD drive but what would be the best media player to do this? as Windows MP doesn't look that good.

Any advice on if this is possible and what recording software and media player I would need greatly welcomed.

Cheers.
 

Mudster

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
2,509
Location
Surrey
Car
2008 A150 SE Classic, 2007 Saab 9-3 Sportwagon
It's likely the forum police will be along shortly informing you of copyright infringement.

As the forum simply can't be seen to encourage, discuss or be in any way involved in this heinous crime your thread will be deleted and you'll be given a 100 lines and told to sit on the naughty step.
 
OP
OP
flango

flango

Hardcore MB Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 10, 2008
Messages
10,983
Location
Gods own country
Car
Mercedes SLK R171
Is recording for own personal use copyight infringement? What is the difference to recording direct to a DVD recorder or video tape? I don't think this violates any UK laws at all, but better check with SWMBO
 
OP
OP
flango

flango

Hardcore MB Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 10, 2008
Messages
10,983
Location
Gods own country
Car
Mercedes SLK R171
Nope, no copyright infringement, recording for personal use under the time shifting rules of The Copyright and Related Rights Regulations 2003 is allowed and perfectly legal.
 

Baron_Samedi

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Feb 17, 2009
Messages
1,896
Location
Wiltshire UK
Car
CLK200K
I currently have a Sky+ box and a DVD player/recorder, when I want to burn a movie on the sky planner to DVD I just set record on the DVD recorder and transfer from the Sky box by pressing play.

Lately my DVD player/recorder is playing up so either I have to replace it or do i? On the same set up as this I have a small form PC running an Intel P4 2800 processor, 1 Gb RAM. So could I connect the Sky box to the PC maybe via the S video output to USB input and record direct to the PC? I could then burn to DVD from the PC in a fraction of the time and also keep the films on the PC's 500Gb disc. I guess I could also play the DVD's from the PC DVD drive but what would be the best media player to do this? as Windows MP doesn't look that good.

Any advice on if this is possible and what recording software and media player I would need greatly welcomed.

Cheers.
Right, obviously all you are doing is what someone with a VCR is doing all the time.

Now, I would use a scart to RCA/SVideo converter and an RCA lead (Red White and Yellow connectors) to present an input to the SVideo input connector on your graphics card and left/right mic input of your motherboard.

Then use a capture program to record the inputs to whatever file type is preferred. MPEG2...
 

merc07

Active Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2007
Messages
425
Car
C350cdi & C220cdi
Why don't you just stick a bigger hd in the sky+ box, thats what I did. You would be suprised how much space is allocated to 'Anytime' and how little you actually have left for recording.

Adam
 
OP
OP
flango

flango

Hardcore MB Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 10, 2008
Messages
10,983
Location
Gods own country
Car
Mercedes SLK R171
Why don't you just stick a bigger hd in the sky+ box, thats what I did. You would be suprised how much space is allocated to 'Anytime' and how little you actually have left for recording.

Adam
How easy is that and what type of drive do I need? what about formatting and is there anything on there that needs re installing that affects the operation of the sky box. Any pointers would be gratefully received.

Cheers Ian
 

A210AMG

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 15, 2007
Messages
8,475
Location
England
Sky + Doesn't have anytime, thats sky HD

You can still add a larger drive however, but you cannot watch it in another room as you could if you burn it to DVD.

I use a 1TB external drive connected to a WD TV box and HDMI to the TV, films, pictures, music all there and it will play all formats you can throw at it :)
 

merc07

Active Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2007
Messages
425
Car
C350cdi & C220cdi
Sky + Doesn't have anytime, thats sky HD

:)

Oops, mine is HD, still, it's worthwhile if your warranty is out..
Fairly straight forward, do a search on taking the sky+ apart and get a decent compatible drive.

You will need copy+ software (free) that does all the work for you - even copying the recordings from your original drive to your new one.

Copy+, the free Sky & XTV disk copier software

Cheers
Adam
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom