Recording from Sky Box

Discussion in 'PC and I.T support/Advice posts' started by flango, Jan 11, 2010.

  1. flango

    flango MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    10,993
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Location:
    Gods own country
    Car:
    Mercedes SLK R171
    I currently have a Sky+ box and a DVD player/recorder, when I want to burn a movie on the sky planner to DVD I just set record on the DVD recorder and transfer from the Sky box by pressing play.

    Lately my DVD player/recorder is playing up so either I have to replace it or do i? On the same set up as this I have a small form PC running an Intel P4 2800 processor, 1 Gb RAM. So could I connect the Sky box to the PC maybe via the S video output to USB input and record direct to the PC? I could then burn to DVD from the PC in a fraction of the time and also keep the films on the PC's 500Gb disc. I guess I could also play the DVD's from the PC DVD drive but what would be the best media player to do this? as Windows MP doesn't look that good.

    Any advice on if this is possible and what recording software and media player I would need greatly welcomed.

    Cheers.
     
  2. Mudster

    Mudster Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,509
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Surrey
    Car:
    2008 A150 SE Classic, 2007 Saab 9-3 Sportwagon
    It's likely the forum police will be along shortly informing you of copyright infringement.

    As the forum simply can't be seen to encourage, discuss or be in any way involved in this heinous crime your thread will be deleted and you'll be given a 100 lines and told to sit on the naughty step.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    flango

    flango MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    10,993
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Location:
    Gods own country
    Car:
    Mercedes SLK R171
    Is recording for own personal use copyight infringement? What is the difference to recording direct to a DVD recorder or video tape? I don't think this violates any UK laws at all, but better check with SWMBO
     
  4. OP
    OP
    flango

    flango MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    10,993
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Location:
    Gods own country
    Car:
    Mercedes SLK R171
    Nope, no copyright infringement, recording for personal use under the time shifting rules of The Copyright and Related Rights Regulations 2003 is allowed and perfectly legal.
     
  5. Mudster

    Mudster Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,509
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Surrey
    Car:
    2008 A150 SE Classic, 2007 Saab 9-3 Sportwagon
    Wow, that sounds very Doctor Who.
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. Baron_Samedi

    Baron_Samedi Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,896
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Location:
    Wiltshire UK
    Car:
    CLK200K
    Right, obviously all you are doing is what someone with a VCR is doing all the time.

    Now, I would use a scart to RCA/SVideo converter and an RCA lead (Red White and Yellow connectors) to present an input to the SVideo input connector on your graphics card and left/right mic input of your motherboard.

    Then use a capture program to record the inputs to whatever file type is preferred. MPEG2...
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. merc07

    merc07 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    372
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Car:
    C350cdi & C220cdi
    Why don't you just stick a bigger hd in the sky+ box, thats what I did. You would be suprised how much space is allocated to 'Anytime' and how little you actually have left for recording.

    Adam
     
  8. OP
    OP
    flango

    flango MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    10,993
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Location:
    Gods own country
    Car:
    Mercedes SLK R171
    How easy is that and what type of drive do I need? what about formatting and is there anything on there that needs re installing that affects the operation of the sky box. Any pointers would be gratefully received.

    Cheers Ian
     
  9. A210AMG

    A210AMG MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    8,475
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Location:
    England
    Sky + Doesn't have anytime, thats sky HD

    You can still add a larger drive however, but you cannot watch it in another room as you could if you burn it to DVD.

    I use a 1TB external drive connected to a WD TV box and HDMI to the TV, films, pictures, music all there and it will play all formats you can throw at it :)
     
  10. merc07

    merc07 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    372
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Car:
    C350cdi & C220cdi

    Oops, mine is HD, still, it's worthwhile if your warranty is out..
    Fairly straight forward, do a search on taking the sky+ apart and get a decent compatible drive.

    You will need copy+ software (free) that does all the work for you - even copying the recordings from your original drive to your new one.

    Copy+, the free Sky & XTV disk copier software

    Cheers
    Adam
     
  11. Mr E

    Mr E Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,593
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Location:
    Sussex
    Car:
    57 W211 E280 AG
    Sky+ does have Anytime - I use it fairly often but dont have HD, just +
     
  12. rees_A

    rees_A Banned

    Messages:
    760
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    North London
    Car:
    CLK55 AMG
    x2
     
Tags:

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.