Newbie: W210 - possible to keep long term, or am I completely insane?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

mj2k

Car
2000 Subaru Legacy GT (remapped to 300bhp)
Hi,

This is a stonker of a first post, so please bear with me. Despite their fearsome reputation I rather like the looks of the W210 saloon, and I'm especially fond of the OM606 turbodiesel. So I'm thinking about trying to get a 300TD W210 in a few months, preferably under 150k with MB service history and non-metallic paint.

I'm an old Merc veteran to some extent - we owned a 190e 2.0 which eventually died of old age, and I followed this up with a low mileage (only just over 100k!) W124 3.0TD estate. Having seen both of these cars get all the usual faults, I'm perfectly aware old Mercs aren't made of granite (well, except the W123) so I reckon I won't be too disappointed with a W210... Or will I?

The rust issue is well documented and I quite enjoy welding, but is it possible to cure a rusty W210, or should I regard any repair work as a temporary measure before I plonk the engine into a 190 and sweep the rest up with a dustpan and brush?

Also, I know there were some issues with the auto box's electroncs if abused / neglected and the parts are only likely to get rarer / more expensive, so is it possible to convert a W210 300TD to manual transmission? Or should I once again reach for a 190 & engine hoist if the autobox electronics fail?

Finally, hopefully a bit of an easier question to answer - when I do start looking, what other problems should I watch out for in my potential victim apart from gearbox EMLs, spring mounts, front crossmember and subframes?

Morning

I don't know much about 210, I had a 320cdi about 12 years ago and it was a great car, but unreliable and a little crusty runs the edges.