Which Track Day tyres?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Pitts Pilot

Car
SL63 AMG 6.3, VW Tiguan 2.0
I'm planning to do some Track days in the New Year.

I'm no stranger to the track on 2 wheels, but a complete novice on 4 (!), so I'll be after some tuition to get me started.

How many of you do Track days? and what tyres would you recommend for a fat lardy SL63 weighting in at just under 2 tons?

Clearly, I'm not driving a Lotus Elise or a Caterham, so tyre choice needs to be specifically geared towards the heavier car.

I realise that a SL63 is not a Track day car of choice, but I also know that high speed training, learning car balance, and the opportunity to fully exploit 500+ bhp can only help me drive more safely, and quickly, (particularly in the wet). Not to mention have more fun!

So which tyres?

(I intend to swap the tyres over after TD weekends, so road manners are not a priority).

Thanks,
Robert

I would go Michelin Pilot Super Sport - can be used both on road and perform very well on track and are long lasting. Ran many sets on my C63 with numerous track days.

For the life of me I can't remember my track tyres but you can get super sticky.

Will check

A048 as already stated above (assuming it's dry!)

Yokohama for me as well they do a road legal track trye ( can't remember the model name) which is good in the wet as well

I realise that a SL63 is not a Track day car of choice, but I also know that high speed training, learning car balance, and the opportunity to fully exploit 500+ bhp can only help me drive more safely, and quickly, (particularly in the wet).

If the aim is learning rather than getting the fastest lap times surely normal road tyres would be best? :dk:

If the aim is learning rather than getting the fastest lap times surely normal road tyres would be best? :dk:
Good point. Difficult to argue with that!